You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

TV animation scribes file Emmy complaint

Producers, writers petition for eligiblity in non-animated writing categories

More than 50 animation exec producers and writers, including Seth MacFarlane of “Family Guy” and Al Jean of “The Simpsons,” registered a complaint Monday with the Television Academy over their inability to submit animated scripts in non-animated writing categories at the Primetime Emmys.

The letter, sent to the TV Academy and its chair, Bruce Rosenblum, reacts to the presence of NBC sitcom “Community” in two animated Emmy categories for the 2012 awards.

“Community” is typically a live-action show, but one of its final episodes of the past season (“Digital Estate Planning”) was largely animated and earned a spot in the animated program competition. In addition, an animated web series using “Community” characters has been placed in contention for a short-form animated kudo.

Jean told Variety that “what they are doing with ‘Community’ is what we said they should do all along” for animated series.

“Why not?” Jean asked. “If a writer of an animated program wants to submit for a writing Emmy, great. And if it’s not good enough, it won’t win.”

The TV Academy responded with a statement explaining its position, noting that – in contrast to other genres – animation producers, writers and directors enter the animated program category as a team. There are no separate categories for individual achievement in animation writing and directing.

The implication is that animation writers are already competing for a writing Emmy, via the animation category, even though they are not shown to be in a specific writing category. To be clear, the specific “Community” episode isn’t under consideration for an Emmy in more than one category. “Community” has submitted three episodes in the comedy writing category, but “Digital Estate Planning,” written by Matt Warburton, was not one of them.

Warburton, since hired to be the showrunner of Fox fall comedy “The Mindy Project,” came to “Community” by way of “The Simpsons,” for which he has several writing and producing credits.

The complaint’s signees, who also include “Simpsons” creator Matt Groening and former Writers Guild of America West prexy Patric M. Verrone (“Futurama”), weren’t seeking to inhibit or criticize “Community” but indicated that the “Community” submissions are a final straw in a matter that dates back 20 years.

“Family Guy,” for example, has an episode in the comedy writing category (written by Steve Callaghan) – but in doing so, forced its own removal from the top animation program race. “Community,” on the other hand, remains in the comedy series race despite its animation presence.

“We have been told that animated program writers could not also submit their work for writing Emmys, for reasons we never understood, but supposedly pertaining to the purity of the branches,” the letter states. “This is why no one was more startled than we when last year ‘Community’ was able to submit for comedy series, writing and animated program, in the face of everything we had been told for two decades. We were told that for some reason, a one-time waiver was granted.

“Imagine our surprise when this year we see “Community” once again eligible for comedy series, writing, animated program, and short-form animated program. Clearly the Academy’s ban on submitting in multiple categories is being enforced in an arbitrary and unfair manner.”

The letter concludes by requesting that animated programs be able to submit “for both animation and comedy series as well as in the writing category.”

Said Jean: ” In fact, as an animation branch member, I can’t even vote in the writing category, and I’ve been a writer for 30 years.”

From the Academy’s perspective, the flexibility with “Community” flowed from the fact that its format was significantly different for the episode it submitted outside of the comedy categories.

” ‘Community’ is a comedy series that for the last two years has included an animated ‘special episode,'” the Acad said in its statement. “The competition includes a rule that a special episode can enter as a standalone special, ‘if it involved a significant and substantive format change throughout.’

“The ‘Community’ producers followed that rule when they entered the producer-writer-director team for the animated episode in the animation category and the regular, live-action episodes in the comedy series program and comedy series individual achievement categories.”

More TV

  • THE BLACKLIST -- "Katarina Rostova (#3)"

    ‘The Blacklist’ Bosses on Delivering the 'Really Intense Family Drama That We've Been Promising for Seven Years'

    SPOILER ALERT: Do not read if you have not yet watched “Katarina Rostova,” the midseason seventh season finale of “The Blacklist.” Since “The Blacklist” began it has been building towards a confrontation between Agent Elizabeth Keen (Megan Boone) and her biological mother, Katarina Rostova (Laila Robbins). That promised confrontation was front-and-center in the seventh season [...]

  • REEF BREAK - "Pilot" - When

    'Reef Break' Canceled After One Season at ABC

    “Reef Break” will not be back for a second season at ABC. The series debuted back in June on the broadcaster and aired 13 episodes, with the finale airing on Sept. 13. It starred Poppy Montgomery as Cat Chambers, Ray Stevenson as Jake Elliot, Desmond Chiam as Wyatt Cole, Melissa Bonne as Ana Dumont and [...]

  • Jeff Shell

    Jeff Shell: Who Is the NBCUniversal Heir Apparent?

    Analytical, decisive, loyal, fair, empowering. Those are just a few of the choice words industry insiders who have worked with incoming NBCUniversal CEO Jeff Shell — set to succeed current chief exec Steve Burke, as Variety exclusively reported — use to describe the longtime media exec.  On Universal’s North Hollywood lot, many insiders who work [...]

  • Reese Witherspoon Kerry Washington Little Fires

    TV News Roundup: Hulu Reveals 'Little Fires Everywhere' Premiere Date

    In today’s TV news roundup, Hulu announces a premiere date for “Little Fires Everywhere” and Variety exclusively obtains a first look at this year’s Christmas episode of “The Simpsons.” DATES “Little Fires Everywhere” will debut March 18, Hulu announced. Produced by Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine, Kerry Washington’s Simpson Street, and ABC Signature Studios, the show [...]

  • Watchmen Regina King Tim Blake Nelson

    How 'Watchmen' Pulled Off One of the Best TV Seasons of the Decade

    The first time Damon Lindelof realized that “Watchmen” — his adaptation/remix/continuation of the groundbreaking 1986 graphic novel by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons — might actually be a hit was after the pilot debuted at New York Comic Con in October. In the following panel, the 46-year-old writer-producer could tell the audience was connecting with [...]

  • 9-1-1: Angela Bassett in the “Christmas

    Live+3 Ratings for Week of Dec. 2: 'The Good Doctor,' '9-1-1' Top Gainers

    “The Good Doctor” on ABC and “9-1-1” on Fox were the two biggest gainers in the Live+3 TV ratings for the week of Dec. 2. The pair benefited from the absence of NBC’s “This Is Us,” which to date has shown the largest gains across all scripted shows after three days of delayed viewing. “Good [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content