You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

NBC Entertainment chairman Robert Greenblatt and retired attorney Michael Lawson have joined the Los Angeles board of City Year, a national org that unites young people for a year of service in urban schools.

Greenblatt and Lawson will help raise awareness for City Year, a partner of AmeriCorps, which has operated in L.A. since 2006. This year, corps members will serve as tutors, mentors and role models in 22 LAUSD schools to help the most at-risk students get back on track to graduate. By the end of the 2010-2011 school year, 88% of the students City Year corps members tutored were less likely to dropout.

“We are thrilled to welcome Bob and Michael to our esteemed board,” said Allison Graff-Weisner, executive director of City Year Los Angeles. “It is an ideal time to harness the combined expertise and resources they bring to the organization.”

Graff-Weisner made the announcement with Andrew Hauptman, chair of the City Year Los Angeles board and national trustee, who said, “I continue to be astounded by the passion and knowledge our board members bring to City Year. Bob and Michael are no exception and we’re so excited that they will join us in addressing the dropout crisis in Los Angeles.” Greenblatt joined NBCUniversal in January 2011 as chairman, NBC Entertainment, where he is responsible for all aspects of primetime, daytime and late-night programming, business affairs, West Coast research, marketing, public relations and scheduling for NBC. He also oversees the Universal Television studio.

Comcast NBCUniversal has been a City Year partner since 2001, contributing more than $75 million in monetary and in-kind resources to City Year over the past decade.

Lawson is a retired partner of law firm Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, where he worked from 1980 until his retirement in 2011.

Other board members include DreamWorks co-chairman and CEO Stacey Snider; thesps Hill Harper and Jason Bateman; David Shaheen, managing director and group head, JP Morgan’s Entertainment Industries Group; Hannah Minghella, president of production, Columbia Pictures; Kelly Mullens Brown, executive VP, external relations, Ryan Seacrest Prods; Kevin K. Tsujihara, president, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment Group; Dawn Ostroff, president, Conde Nast Entertainment; Todd Owens, managing director, Goldman Sachs; Ben Sherwood, president, ABC News; Darrin Silveria, regional VP, T-Mobile; and Arn Tellem, principal at Wasserman Media Group.