Fox selects 10 for writers program

New conglom unit aims to increase diversity

Fox has selected 10 aspiring scribes to participate in a newly revamped writers program aimed at getting more diverse voices into the network’s programming mix.

The Fox Writers Intensive is intended to groom writers for staffing on Fox productions. The finalists will spend the next four months working closely with representatives from Fox’s TV, film and digital divisions to hone their craft. One winner will be awarded a fellowship at the conclusion of the program.

Last February, the News Corp. unit rebranded its Audience Strategy Group under the new leadership of Nicole Bernard at the behest of Peter Rice, chairman of entertainment for Fox Networks Group, and Kevin Reilly, Fox Broadcasting entertainment prexy. Bernard, senior veep of audience strategy for the Fox Group, previously led standards and practices at the network for six years.

“This is an important step toward ensuring that our film, TV and digital productions better reflect our broader audience, and we’re thrilled that so many writers and producers have signed on to lend their expertise,” Bernard said.

One key directive for the new unit was to rethink its approach to the writers program in a way that could deliver more meaningful results for the conglom.

Among the Fox creatives who will provide guidance to the finalists are Hart Hanson, Davey Holmes, Patrick Massett, Cherry Chevapravatdumrong, Virgil Williams, Peter Sollett, Eli Dolleman, Laurence Andries, Jessica Sharzer and Roy Lee.

FWI finalists are Nick Citton, Alessia Costantini, Jan Eliasberg, Jason Gavin, Nicole Jefferson Asher, Tina Mabry, Eric Nazarian, Mark Valadez, Thomas Wong and Iris Yamashita. FWI is administered by nonprofit arts org Film Independent.