AMPAS has boosted its Science and Technology Council membership to 25 with the addition of eight new participants.

Doug Cooper, Paul Debevec, Ray Feeney, Josh Pines, David Stump, Steve Sullivan, Bill Taylor and Beverly Wood have accepted invitations to join the nine-year-old council, which promotes the development of science and technology in motion pictures and also preserves its history.

Cooper is a DreamWorks animation visual effects supervisor, while Debevec is associate director for graphics research at USC’s Institute for Creative Technologies among other positions.

Debevec (“Avatar,” “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”) has been a member of the visual effects branch since 2010. Feeney is prexy and founder of RFX Inc. and has received the Academy’s John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation, the Gordon E. Sawyer Award, and four Scientific and Engineering Awards for his technological contributions.

Pines is imaging research and development veep at Technicolor Digital Intermediates, while Stump is the founder of Motion Control Rental Services and the visual effects director of photography for “X-Men.”

Steve Sullivan is a partner architect at Microsoft and past senior technology officer at Lucasfilm, Illusion Arts co-founder Taylor has worked on the visual effects of more than 200 films and has served for years on the Academy’s Board of Governors, and Wood is exec veep of technical services and client relationships at Deluxe Laboratories and EFILM.

The Council’s other 15 members are Peter Anderson, Lisa Churgin, Denny Clairmont, Elizabeth Cohen, David Gray, John Hora, Jim Houston, Randal Kleiser, Daryn Okada, Rick Sayre, Milt Shefter, Garrett Smith, and Academy governors Craig Barron, Richard Edlund and Don Hall.

Academy governor Bill Kroyer (short films and feature animation branch) and digital media technology executive George Joblove (visual effects vranch) co-chair the council.