You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Groundhog night

Second annual Comedy Awards handed out in Gotham

Louis C.K. was the man to beat Saturday night, as the second annual Comedy Awards were handed out at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City.

By the time the comedian won his fourth award, he’d gotten tired of saying “thanks” to a crowd that included Amy Poehler, Will Arnett, Tina Fey, Adam Scott, Ty Burrell, Jim Carrey, Ed Helms, Maya Rudolph and Chris Rock.

“This is stupid now,” he said, adding it was a nightmare “to keep getting this fucking thing over and over again.”

Presenter Tracy Morgan took the opportunity to make a “special” announcement. “I’m quitting show business … to join the Secret Service,” he joked, adding that his gig at the Comedy Awards would be his last duty as a celebrity.

Icon Award honoree Robin Williams had a special message for his wife, saying, “Tonight, my darling Susan, you’ll be fucking with an icon!”

The Johnny Carson Award went to Don Rickles, who had high praise for Jon Stewart, David Letterman and Jimmy Kimmel, and did his best Robert De Niro impression.

Rickles summed up the evening with, “I see many people in this audience, and I realize tonight, I’m the biggest name here.”

More TV

  • James Marsden attends the 2019 MOCA

    New Abortion Ban Laws Take Center Stage at MOCA Gala

    Forty years ago in Los Angeles, the decision to invest millions in a museum dedicated exclusively to contemporary art — not to mention its formerly desolate downtown location, where the vibe was more apocalyptic than artsy — was a risky proposition. But now that the city’s cultural heart has shifted south of Hollywood, it seems [...]

  • WGA Agents Contract Tug of War

    Writers Guild Expands Suit Against Agencies With New Fraud Allegations

    The Writers Guild of America has bulked up its lawsuit with additional fraud allegations against Hollywood’s four biggest talent agencies. The WGA amended its suit Monday in Los Angeles Superior Court with the claim that CAA, WME, UTA and ICM partners have engaged “constructive fraud” by allegedly placing their own interests ahead of their clients [...]

  • Jason Mitchell

    Jason Mitchell Dropped From 'The Chi' Season 3, Netflix Film

    Jason Mitchell is being dropped from a number of his current and upcoming projects. Variety has confirmed that the up and coming actor will not return for “The Chi’s” already announced third season, with Season 2 of the show currently airing on Showtime. In addition, Mitchell will no longer be starring in the Netflix film “Desperados,” in [...]

  • Maisie Williams

    TV News Roundup: Maisie Williams to Guest Judge 'RuPaul's Drag Race UK'

    In today’s roundup, Maisie Williams will guest judge on “RuPaul’s Drag Race UK” and “Drunk History” will return with eight new episodes to Comedy Central.  DATES Comedy Central‘s “Drunk History” will return with eight new episodes beginning with “Derek Waters’ Believe It or Not” Tuesday, June 18 at 10 p.m. The series premiere of “Alternatino [...]

  • Lisa Kudrow

    Lisa Kudrow Joins Lee Daniels-Whitney Cummings Comedy Pilot 'Good People' at Amazon

    Lisa Kudrow has signed on to star in and executive produce the comedy pilot “Good People” currently in the works at Amazon, Variety has learned. The half-hour project hails from writers and executive producers Whitney Cummings and Lee Daniels, with Cummings also set to star. It centers on three generations of women working in the [...]

  • 'Game of Thrones' Series Finale: Much

    'Game of Thrones' Series Finale: A Lot of 'Love' Despite Much-Criticized Ending

    Spoiler alert: Do not read until you’ve watched “The Iron Throne,” the series finale of HBO’s “Game of Thrones,” aka season 8, episode 6. Bran Stark may have a perpetual poker face, but “Game of Thrones” fans certainly had a lot of feelings about him Sunday night. The stony faced character was the No. 1 [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content