Former TV Academy chairman Dick Askin will receive the Syd Cassyd Founders Award at the Primetime Emmys Creative Arts ceremony Sept. 15.

The award honors longtime positive impact on the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. As chairman and CEO of the Academy for two terms from 2003-2007, Askin created the Academy’s committee to address the relocation of television production from the U.S. to other countries. He also helped develop more collaborative relationships with the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and the International Television Academy.

In addition, Askin supported the inclusion of broadband programming in the Primetime Emmys and oversaw the expansion under the Academy of professional development events, networking programs and membership benefits.

“Dick left an invaluable mark on the Television Academy during his years of service on the Board of Governors, the executive committee and during two terms as chairman,” Acad chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum said. “He is a smart, talented and innovative executive, and built a great foundation for the organization to grow on a variety of levels.”

The founder of entertainment advisory firm Askin & Co., he remains active on the board of the Television Academy Foundation. Askin has previously been Tribune Entertainment CEO and prexy and Sanuel Goldwyn Television prexy, and has been credited with developing several firstrun series.

Past recipients of the Syd Cassyd Founders Award include TV Academy founder Cassyd (1991), Robert Lewine (1992), Hank Rieger (1994), Larry Stewart (1995), Thomas Sarnoff (1997), Howard Smit (2000), Leo Chaloukian (2004), Richard Frank (2007), Dixon Dern (2009) and John Leverence (2010).