You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Public Enemy, Rush, Heart, Randy Newman, Albert King and Donna Summer round out an eclectic group of inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, which the Cleveland-based org announced today.

Drawn from a pool of 15 nominees announced in October, the class of 2013 will also include Lou Adler and Quincy Jones, who will be honored with the Ahmet Ertegun award for non-performing contributions.

By far the biggest story of this year’s nominations was the selection of Rush, the divisive yet fiercely supported progressive power trio whose continued absence from the Hall had become something of a running controversy. Though eligible for more than a decade, the group was first nominated this year, following years of fan petitions and protests. The highly virtuosic band is best known for its Objectivism-inspired concept album “2112” and continues to record new material, releasing “Clockwork Angels” this past summer.

Summer, who had been unsuccessfully nominated for several years prior, joins the Hall less than a year after succumbing to cancer. She was a hitmaking power throughout the disco era and beyond with such rock-oriented singles as “Hot Stuff,” and her mid-’70s recordings with Giorgio Moroder — “I Feel Love” and “Love to Love You” especially — were particularly seminal in the development of disco and subsequent electronic dance music genres. She joins the Bee Gees and Abba among the Hall’s few disco-associated inductees.

Joining former Def Jam labelmates the Beastie Boys, who were inducted last year, storied hip-hop act Public Enemy wins admittance on its first try, though the group’s cross-country contemporaries N.W.A. did not make it past the nomination stage.

Also on the inductee list is multiple Oscar winner Randy Newman, venerable ’70s sister-act Heart and bluesman Albert King. Other unsuccessful nominees included Procol Harum, Kraftwerk, Deep Purple, Chic, the Paul Butterfield Blues Band and the Meters.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles on April 18 and will be aired by HBO in May.