Smash,” the NBC series about the behind-the-scenes machinations of creating a Broadway musical, has had plenty of great musical moments in its 15 episodes. Nineteen original songs were written, all but one by Tony-winning “Hairspray” tunesmiths Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman.

Unfortunately for “Smash” and its songwriters — who have created an entire musical about the life of Marilyn Monroe, one that may still have a future in the legit theater — only two are entered in this year’s Emmy competition.

Emmy rules permit only a single entry from an “identical team” of songwriters from the same series. So Shaiman and Wittman, who were allowed to submit a single song, chose “Let Me Be Your Star,” the showstopping number from the pilot sung by Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty as two actresses vying for the part of the blonde bombshell.

Also submitted from “Smash” was “Touch Me,” from OneRepublic producer-songwriter Ryan Tedder and three other writers, for McPhee’s sexy performance in the eighth episode when the show’s director temporarily wanted a more contemporary sound. That song also leads off the new “Smash” soundtrack.

TV Academy music-branch governor Ian Fraser confirmed that a single team can enter only one song. “I wish there was another way to recognize the many songs written for ‘Smash,’ which is a really unique situation, but it’s too late to change the rules for this year,” he said.

The Acad may consider a rule change for next year, he added, “to try to better accommodate multiple-song series like ‘Smash,’ and any other similar shows that might come up in the future.” –

Road to the Emmys 2012: Creative Arts
TV f/x artists doing much more with less | Freshman dramas opt for full scores | Technical direction contenders thrive on adrenaline | TV lensers use color to orient viewers | Costumes help thesps create characters | Design Emmy contenders conjure bygone eras | Emmy limits “Smash” song entries