You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Lortels like ‘Once,’ ‘Prophet’

Three awards go to current Tony contender

Current Tony contender “Once” and much-lauded play “Sons of the Prophet” took the top prizes at the Off Broadway-centric Lucille Lortel Awards.

Prior to its spring opening on the Rialto, “Once” had bowed in the fall at Off Broadway’s New York Theater Workshop in a run that qualified the musical for the Lortels. Also in the running for 11 Tonys, “Once” scored the Lortel for musical as well as the choreography trophy for Steven Hoggett and a lighting design laurel for Natasha Katz, who shared her kudo with David Weiner for his work on Bergman adaptation “Through a Glass Darkly” at the Atlantic Theater.

Stephen Karam’s “Sons of the Prophet,” which played the Roundabout Theater Company’s Off Broadway space in the fall, took the prize for play as well as the lead actor kudo for Santino Fontana. Show’s well-received Gotham stint initially stirred talk of a Broadway run, but such a move has not yet materialized.

Classic Stage Company’s production of “The Cherry Orchard,” toplined by Dianne Wiest and John Turturro, won for revival while Denis O’Hare and Lisa Peterson’s Homer adaptation “An Iliad,” another show that played New York Theater Workshop, scored for solo show.

Sam Gold snagged the directing Lortel for “The Big Meal.” He was also nommed for helming the Roundabout’s “Look Back in Anger,” which won a featured actor prize for Adam Driver (“Girls”).

Lynn Nottage’s “By the Way, Meet Vera Stark,” which premed at Second Stage, took home a pair of honors, nabbing the lead actress award for Sanaa Lathan and the costume design laurel for ESosa.

Featured actress kudo went to Tonya Pinkins for Kristen Greenidge’s “Milk Like Sugar” at Playwrights Horizons. Design nods went to set designer Lauren Helpern for Amy Herzog’s “4,000 Miles” at Lincoln Center Theater and sound designers Matt Tierney and Ben Williams for “The Select (The Sun Also Rises),” the Elevator Repair Service show that played NYTW.

Another glowingly received Off Broadway play, Nina Raine’s “Tribes,” came away empty handed despite racking up six Lortel noms.

Winners are voted on by a pool of reps drawn from legit orgs such as the Off Broadway League, Actors’ Equity, Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation and other theater pros and journos.

The 27th annual Lortel Awards, for which only Off Broadway productions are eligible, were handed out Sunday in a ceremony hosted by Mario Cantone and helmed by Michael Heitzman. Show was produced by the Off Broadway League’s Lortel Awards Producing and Administration Committee, by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation and with support from the Theater Development Fund.

Popular on Variety

More Legit

  • Timothee Chalamet poses for photographers at

    Timothée Chalamet to Make London Stage Debut With Eileen Atkins in '4000 Miles'

    Timothee Chalemet is set to take to the London stage for the first time, appearing next spring in Amy Herzog’s Pulitzer Prize-nominated play “4000 Miles.” Matthew Warchus will direct the production at The Old Vic, which will also star Eileen Atkins (“The Crown,” “Gosford Park”). The play opens April 2020. It turns on the story [...]

  • Jonathan Groff

    Listen: Jonathan Groff Knows He's a Spitter

    If you’ve seen “Little Shop of Horrors” — the starry revival headlined by Jonathan Groff in a small Off Broadway theater — you probably noticed that Groff spits a lot when he speaks onstage. He’ll be the first to tell you that he’s been a spitter as long as he can remember, but “Little Shop” [...]

  • Key Largo

    L.A. Theater Review: Andy Garcia in 'Key Largo'

    Would “Casablanca” make a good play? Guess what: It was first produced on stage as “Everybody Comes to Rick’s.” How about “Key Largo,” the black-and-white Bogie-and-Bacall vehicle in which a handful of misfits find themselves trapped in a South Florida hotel while a hurricane rages outside? In fact, the 1948 John Huston film was adapted [...]

  • Sophia Anne Caruso and Alex Brightman'Beetlejuice'

    How 'Beetlejuice: The Musical' Became a Broadway Turnaround Story

    Christopher Kuczewski is what you’d call a Netherling. It’s a reference to the netherworld inhabitants who populate “Beetlejuice: The Musical,” the off-beat adaptation of the 1988 hit film that’s becoming an unlikely Broadway turnaround story. And that designation, which has been given to superfans of the show, goes a long way towards explaining how a [...]

  • Lena Waithe'The Inheritance' Broadway play opening,

    Lena Waithe, Anderson Cooper Attend Broadway Opening of 'The Inheritance'

    “The Inheritance” pulls viewers in many directions — toward pain and hope, trauma and healing. It’s what brought stars like Andy Cohen, Anderson Cooper, Sarah Jessica Parker, Matthew Broderick and Lena Waithe to Broadway on Sunday — a chance to heal, to remember and grieve. Also in attendance for the premiere at the Barrymore Theater [...]

  • Touching the Void review

    West End Review: 'Touching the Void'

    It shouldn’t work. Attempting to make effective theatre out of scaling a mountain, facing disaster thousands of feet up in the freezing cold and enduring a drawn-out facedown with death is surely a preposterous idea. Yet that is exactly what playwright David Grieg and director Tom Morris and his ideally meshed creative team have done. [...]

  • Hangmen review play

    Martin McDonagh’s 'Hangmen' Coming to Broadway in 2020

    Martin McDonagh’s “Hangmen” will debut on Broadway this spring, the latest in a line of West End transfers to the Great White Way this year. The play, which focuses on the second-best executioner in Britain dealing with his government’s decision to abolish his favorite form of doing away with prisoners, will begin performances on Feb. [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content