You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Women in Film sets 10 film fund recipients

Netflix supports grants; org's foundation board adds 13 members

The Women in Film Foundation has announced the 10 recipients for the 27th annual Film Finishing Fund, which this year will assist two narrative feature films, seven docs and one narrative short with cash grants supported by Netflix.

The narrative feature film recipients are writer-director Iram Parveen Bilal for her film “Josh (Against the Grain)” and French producer Antonin Dedet for “Yema.”

In the large pool of docu winners are directors Barbara Attie and Janet Goldwater for “Baddddd Sonia Sanchez”; writer-director Grace Lee Boggs for “American Revolutionary: The Evolution of Grace Lee Boggs”; writer-director Blair Doroshwalther for “Out in the Night”; producer Kathy McCabe for “Good Ol’ Freda”; director-producer Roberta Grossman for “Hava Nagila”; director-producer Cecilia Peck for “Miss World”; and producer-director Nancy Kates for “Regarding Susan Sontag.”

The lone project in the narrative short category is animated film “The Etymology of Zero,” from Katy May and Liz Anderson.

Popular on Variety

WIFF also announced the 13 new members of its board of trustees, who include Greenberg Glusker partner Hillary Bibicoff, Loeb & Loeb partner Ivy Kagan Bierman, Lillah McCarthy, senior veep of original programming at TNT and TBS, and Diane Tauder, veep of post production at Warner Bros.

More Film

  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    COLA Announces California On-Location Awards Winners

    “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood,” “Dolemite is My Name,” and HBO’s “Ballers” are among the winners of this year’s COLA awards. The COLAs recognize location managers, public employees and other professionals who help facilitate on-location production across the Golden State. This year’s awards program was held at the Universal Hilton. Finalists and winners are [...]

  • French movie director Jean Luc Godard

    How Anna Karina and Jean-Luc Godard Immortalized Each Other (Guest Column)

    With the passing of Anna Karina, a curtain has fallen on the French New Wave, that fabled cinematic movement that brought fame to the man who made her name, Jean-Luc Godard. Yes, Godard is still with us, as is “Breathless” star Jean-Paul Belmondo (practically the last of the living New Wave legends), but his moviemaking [...]

  • Richard Jewell

    Box Office: Clint Eastwood Suffers Worst Opening in Four Decades With 'Richard Jewell'

    Clint Eastwood might end up with a lump of box office coal after “Richard Jewell” sputtered in its domestic debut. Despite critical acclaim, Warner Bros.’ drama about the security guard falsely accused by the media for playing a part in the 1996 Olympics bombing ignited with a dismal $5 million from 2,502 theaters. It’s a [...]

  • (from left) Tom (Henry Golding) and

    Emilia Clarke's 'Last Christmas' Crosses $100 Million at Global Box Office

    Universal’s “Last Christmas,” a romantic comedy starring Emilia Clarke and Henry Golding, surpassed $100 million in global ticket sales. The milestone is a win for original fare, one that is especially impressive considering the movie was skewered by critics for its wacky twist ending. After six weeks in theaters, “Last Christmas” has earned $34.4 million [...]

  • DSCF0855.RAF

    'Jumanji 2' Rules Overseas Box Office With $85 Million

    Sony’s “Jumanji: The Next Level” powered international box office charts, collecting $85 million from 34 markets over the weekend. The action-packed sequel kicked off in North America with $60 million for a global start of $145 million. “Jumanji: The Next Level” debuted in a handful of foreign territories last weekend, bringing box office receipts to [...]

  • Rey (Daisy Ridley) in STAR WARS:

    Disney Plus Signs Exclusive Distribution Deal With Canal Plus in France

    Ahead of its launch in France on March 31, 2020, Disney Plus has signed an exclusive distribution agreement with Canal Plus Group, the country’s leading pay-TV company. The deal, which was first reported in the French newspaper Les Echos and confirmed by Canal Plus Group CEO Maxime Saada on his Twitter account, marks a new [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content