WB options ‘The Genius Files’

Studio acquires feature rights to best-selling children's book series

EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman.

Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January.

Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series of adventures in the name of national security. The brilliant duo keep their activities a secret from their parents, however, as the whole family travels across America in an RV.

Hollywood has adapted Gutman’s children’s tomes before. TNT turned novel “Honus and Me” into the 2004 TV movie “The Winning Season” starring Matthew Modine. Book was described as a cross between “Field of Dreams” and “Big” and centered around a boy who finds a baseball card which transports him back to the 1909 world series.

Observers have described the “Genius Files” books as in the vein of “Spy Kids” and “Agent Cody banks.” Niija Kuykendall will oversee for WB.

Hotchkiss and Associates completed the deal on behalf of Eden Street LLC.

More Film

  • 'Path of Blood' Review: The Mask

    Film Review: 'Path of Blood'

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Hush Hush

    Film News Roundup: Supernatural Romance Movie 'Hush, Hush' Taps Kellie Cyrus as Director

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Graphic Novel 'Under,' About Sewer Mutants,

    Graphic Novel 'Under,' About Sewer-Dwelling Mutants, Being Adapted Into Movie (EXCLUSIVE)

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Daniel KaluuyaThe Metropolitan Museum of Art's

    Daniel Kaluuya to Star in Romantic Drama 'Queen and Slim' From Lena Waithe

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Durban Fest Fetes South African Women

    Durban Fest Fetes South African Women With Diverse Line-Up

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Predator Comic-Con panel

    'The Predator' Teases Battling Aliens at Gory Comic-Con Panel

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content