Student Academy Awards honor 13

Raso's 'Under' tops narrative film race

Two AFI students were among the 13 collegians honored by the film academy Saturday for their projects at the 39th annual Student Academy Awards.

Laura Dern, Cuba Gooding, Jr., Greg Kinnear, Mena Suvari and Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences prexy Tom Sherak made the presentations.

Mark Raso of Columbia U. won the gold medal in narrative film for “Under.” AFI students Ryan Prows (“Narcocorrido”) and Justin Tipping (“Nani”) won the silver and bronze. In alternative, USC’s Amanda Tasse was the sole honoree for “The Reality Clock.”

The documentary gold medalist was NYU’s Keiko Wright for “Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment.” American U.’s Ellen Tripler won the silver medal in the category for “Dying Green,” while the bronze went to Heather Burky of the Art Institute of Jacksonville for “Lost Country.”

For animation, CalArts student David Wolter won the gold medal for “Eyrie,” while UCLA’s Mark Nelson (“The Jockstrap Raiders”) earned the silver and Eric Prah of Ringling College of Art and Design took the bronze for “My Little Friend.”

Honors for foreign film were topped by David Winstone (“For Elsie”) of the University of Westminster. The silver medal went to Thomas Stuber (“Of Dogs and Horses”) of Germany’s Film Academy Baden-Württemberg, and the bronze to countrymate Elmar Imanov (“The Swing of the Coffin Maker”) of the International Film School Cologne.

Gold-medal films will be screened June 24 at the Palm Springs International ShortFest and June 27 at the National Archives Building in Washington D.C.

Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. At this year’s Oscars, 2011 Student Academy Award honorees Hallvar Witzo and Max Zahle were nominated in live-action short film for “Tuba Atlantic” and “Raju.”

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • (from left) Deckard Shaw (Jason Statham)

    Korea Box Office: ‘Hobbs & Shaw’ Topples ‘Exit,’ ‘Roar to Victory’  

    Opening on Wednesday, “Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw” debuted on top of the South Korean box office. Showing on some 1,311 screens nationwide, the UPI release earned $15.1 million from 2.03 million admissions over five days. That included the four-day National Liberation Day weekend. “The Battle: Roar to Victory” remained in second. The [...]

  • Tracy Morgan Netflix stand-up special

    Film News Roundup: Tracy Morgan Joins Eddie Murphy's 'Coming 2 America'

    In today’s film news roundup, Tracy Morgan and Michael Rooker book roles in major movies, and Gravitas buys “Christmas Break-In.” CASTINGS Tracy Morgan has signed on to appear in Eddie Murphy’s “Coming 2 America” sequel as the brother of Lesley Jones’ character. “Hustle & Flow” helmer Craig Brewer is directing the project with Murphy, Kevin [...]

  • Spider-Man Far From Home

    'Spider-Man: Far From Home' Gets Re-Release With New Scene

    Sony Pictures is re-releasing “Spider-Man: Far From Home” with a new action scene. Starting Aug. 29, a new extended cut, featuring four minutes of a never-before-seen action sequence, will be released in theaters in the United States and Canada. The film will also be available in IMAX and large formats in select locations. “Spider-Man: Far [...]

  • Matthew Modine

    Supporters Back Matthew Modine After Clumsy Joke at SAG-AFTRA Meeting

    More than 100 women, including Ellen Barkin and Allison Janney, have voiced support for Matthew Modine’s campaign for SAG-AFTRA presidency, following a joke at a SAG-AFTRA meeting that some decried as misogynist. With voting set to conclude on Aug. 28, the campaigns have featured vitriolic attacks between supporters of Modine, secretary-treasurer Jane Austin and incumbent [...]

  • Lady Gaga

    Variety Earns 14 Folio: Eddie & Ozzie Award Nominations

    Variety has received 14 Folio: Eddie & Ozzie award nominations for its coverage of the entertainment industry over the past year. The awards gala, which will take place at The Hilton Midtown in New York City on Oct. 30, celebrates publications that have demonstrated impressive investigative journalism, in addition to thoughtful digital and print design. [...]

  • WGA Agents Packaging Fight Placeholder

    Writers Guild Withdraws State Suit Against Agencies, Refiles in Federal Court

    The Writers Guild of America has withdrawn its state court suit against WME, CAA, UTA and ICM Partners alleging packaging fees are illegal and re-filed suit in federal court. The WGA also responded to antitrust claims brought against the guild by the three agencies. Those agency suits alleged that the WGA abused its power in [...]

  • Tim Roth to Receive Honorary Heart

    Tim Roth to Receive Honorary Heart of Sarajevo Award

    British actor Tim Roth is to receive the Honorary Heart of Sarajevo Award in recognition of his “exceptional contribution to the art of film.” The ceremony at the Sarajevo Film Festival will be held on Tuesday. He will hold a masterclass on the same day. His first screen role was the lead in the controversial [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content