Stephen Lighthill has been elected prexy of the American Society of Cinematographers.

The outcome was determined by the ASC’s newly elected board of governors, which includes four past presidents: Owen Roizman, Victor J. Kemper, Richard Crudo and Michael Goi. Also elected ASC officers were VPs Crudo, Daryn Okada and Kees Van Oostrum; treasurer Kemper; secretary Fred Goodich; and sergeant-at-arms Steven Fierberg.

Lighthill takes over from the outgoing Goi, who served three consecutive terms, the maximum allowed, although past presidents like Kemper have held the post longer but not in consecutive years.

Lighthill takes up leadership of the ASC at a time when the shifting sands of technology — including the increasing prevalence of 3D and digital capture — are providing cinematographers with more options than ever, while innovations in visual effects have altered the role of the d.p. The 330-member org has long fostered the primacy of film as narrative cinema’s favored medium.

“The creative options are abundant today,” Lighthill said. “That also means it’s never been more important for us as an organization to collaborate in the diverse challenges affecting the role of the cinematographer.”