You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Sony exec elected to chair Film Commission

Commission oversees state's tax credit incentive program

The California Film Commission’s board of commissioners has elected Sony exec Keith Weaver as chair for the 2012 term.

The commission, which oversees the state’s 4-year-old tax credit incentive program, made the announcement Thursday.

Weaver serves as exec VP of worldwide government affairs at Sony Pictures Entertainment, where he has worked for more than a decade. He joined the commission’s board in 2008.

Weaver replaces outgoing Chairman Michael F. Miller, Jr. of the Int. Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, who will continue to serve as a board member. Teamsters Local 399 Business Agent and Organizer Steve Dayan has been tapped as vice chair and documentary producer Hilary Armstrong was selected as secretary.

The 21-member board advises the film commission, which is headed by Amy Lemisch. Members are appointed by the Governor, Senate Pro Tem and Speaker of the Assembly.

“Keith brings a powerful blend of public affairs and entertainment industry experience that will help advance our mission of increasing production and creating jobs in California,” Lemisch said. “He’s as much at home in Sacramento as he is in Hollywood, and he knows how to get things done.”

Prior to joining Sony in 2002, Weaver served as staff director for the California State Redistricting Office, where he led the effort to develop new legislative district boundaries.

Assemblyman Felipe Fuentes is developing legislation that would extend California’s film production incentive program and plans to introduce a bill in the upcoming legislative session, which began this week. The California program has allocated credits totaling $400 million and will dole out another $100 million this July plus $100 million more in July 2013.

More Film

  • Glass trailer

    'Glass': Five Box Office Takeaways From M. Night Shyamalan's Thriller

    With his fifth No. 1 box office opening, M. Night Shyamalan has plenty to celebrate. “Glass,” the conclusion to a trilogy that consists of the 2000 cult hit “Unbreakable” and 2016’s box office sensation “Split,” topped the box office last weekend — though its win comes with a few caveats. James McAvoy reprised his role [...]

  • Berlin: Patra Spanou Picks Up Panorama

    Berlin: Patra Spanou Picks Up Panorama Title 'Family Members' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Patra Spanou has picked up world sales rights to “Los miembros de la familia” (Family Members), which will world premiere in the Berlin Film Festival’s Panorama section. Variety has been given an exclusive first look of the film’s trailer. The film is the second feature from writer/director Mateo Bendesky, and is produced by Agustina Costa [...]

  • Great Point Media, The Development Partnership

    Great Point Media, The Development Partnership Join Forces on Slate of Movies

    Great Point Media and The Development Partnership, the development and production arm of the talent agency the Artists Partnership, are joining forces to develop, package, and co-produce multiple films, kicking off with three projects, including “Chasing Agent Freegard,” starring James Norton (“War & Peace”). “Chasing Agent Freegard,” which is being produced by “Captain Phillips” co-producer [...]

  • Berlin: FiGa Acquires ‘Landless,’ Drops ‘Hormigas’

    Berlin: FiGa Acquires ‘Landless,’ Drops ‘Hormigas’ Trailer (EXCLUSIVE)

    Sandro Fiorin’s Miami-based FiGa Films, a leading sales agent on the independent Latin American scene, has announced the acquisition of Brazilian doc “Landless,” and released a trailer for the Costa Rican-Spanish drama “El despertar de las hormigas.” Both features will play at this year’s Berlinale Forum and come from young Latin American filmmakers making their [...]

  • Ryan Reynolds Cancels Arm Surgery to

    Ryan Reynolds Cancels Arm Surgery to Promote 'Deadpool 2' in China

    Ryan Reynolds canceled surgery on his arm to fly to China and charm “Deadpool” fans in Beijing on Sunday ahead of the franchise’s unexpected China theatrical debut. Just last week, Fox suddenly announced that a re-cut, PG-13 “Deadpool 2” would hit Chinese theaters starting this Friday – the first time the notoriously blood-splattered and foul-mouthed [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content