‘Moonrise Kingdom,’ ‘Argo’ to book-end Poland fest

American Film Festival runs Nov. 13-18

Wes Anderson’s “Moonrise Kingdom” is set to open the third American Film Festival in Wroclaw, Poland, while Ben Affleck’s “Argo” will close the fest. Both films will make their Polish premieres at the festival.

AFF, which runs Nov. 13-18, is the first event in Eastern and Central Europe focused entirely on independent American cinema. This year’s edition, held at the Helios New Horizons cinema, will screen 53 films, including 35 Polish, two European, one international and one world premiere.

The festival’s two competitive sections are Spectrum ($10,000 award for best narrative feature) and American Docs ($5,000 for documentary feature). The prizes are voted on by the festival audience.

This year’s Spectrum section comprises 16 films, including Colin Trevorrow’s Sundance hit “Safety Not Guaranteed,” Matthew Lillard’s “Fat Kid Rules the World,” Charles Matthau’s “Freaky Deaky” and Daniel Schechter’s “Supporting Characters.” Latter pic, which co-stars Lena Dunham, is being released by Tribeca Films on Jan. 23 before heading to select theaters.

Popular on Variety

The American Docs competition will feature eight titles, including Jonathan Demme’s “Neil Young Journeys” and David France’s “How to Survive a Plague.”

Two titles from last year’s U.S. in Progress Wroclaw (AFF’s platform for completion and promotion of U.S. independent films) — Amy Seimetz’s “Sun Don’t Shine” and Jason Cortlund and Julia Harpelin’s “Now, Forager: A Film About Love and Fungi” — will also compete for the main prize. Both films are nominated for the IFP’s Gotham Awards.

Other high-profile Polish premieres include Paul Thomas Anderson’s “The Master,” John Hillcoat’s “Lawless,” Abel Ferrara’s “4:44 Last Day on Earth,” Richard Linklater’s “Bernie” and Michel Gondry’s “The We and the I.”

AFF will also pay tribute to Jerry Schatzberg, Wes Anderson and Nicholas Ray in a series of retrospectives.

Competition Titles

Spectrum section

“Arcadia,” directed by Olivia Silver

“Fat Kid Rules The World,” directed by Matthew Lillard

Freaky Deaky,” directed by Charles Matthau

“Gayby,” directed by Jonathan Lisecki

“Jack and Diane,” directed by Bradley Rust Gray

“Jeff, Who Lives at Home,” directed by Jay Duplass and Mark Duplass

“Leave Me as You Found Me,” directed by Adele Romanski

“Safety Not Guaranteed,” directed by Colin Trevorrow

“Richard’s Wedding,” directed by Onur Tukel

“Save the Date,” directed by Michael Mohan

“Sun Don’t Shine,” directed by Amy Seimetz

“Supporting Characters,” directed by Daniel Schechter

“The Comedy,” directed by Rick Alverson

“White Fox Mask,” directed by Ricky Shane Reid

“Now, Forager: A Film About Love and Fungi,” directed by Jason Cortlund and Julia Halperin

“Compliance,” directed by Craig Zobel

American Docs section

“Bayou Blue,” directed by Alix Lambert and David McMahon

“Between Two Rivers,” directed by Jacob Cartwright and Nick Jordan

“How to Survive a Plague,” directed by David France

“Let Fury Have the Hour,” directed by Antonino D’Ambrosio

“Me@theZoo,” directed by Chris Moukarbel and Valerie Veatch

“Neil Young Journeys,” directed by Jonathan Demme

“30. Tchoupitoulas,” directed by Bill Ross and Turner Ross

“Wonder Women! The Untold Story of American Superheroines,” directed by Kristy Guevara-Flanagan

More Film

  • Mickey Rourke

    Mickey Rourke Joins Religious Drama 'Man of God'

    Pure Flix/Quality Flix has picked up international sales rights to religious drama “Man of God,” starring Mickey Rourke, Aris Servetalis and Alexander Petrov. The rights are for sale at the Berlin Film Festival. “Man of God,” directed and written by Yelena Popovic. Producers are Alexandros Potter and Yelena Popovic through their company Simeon Entertainment and [...]

  • Young Hunter

    'Young Hunter': Film Review

    Director-writer Marco Berger has been playing with same-sex seduction since his debut, “Plan B,” frequently pitching one confident gay man against a more closeted or curious conquest. Eleven years after that first feature, his latest, “Young Hunter,” continues to riff on the same theme, here exhibiting parallels with the entrapment scenario of 2011’s “Absent” in [...]

  • Kumail Nanjiani Stuber

    Film News Roundup: Kumail Nanjiani Boards Political Thriller 'The Independent'

    In today’s film news roundup, Kumail Nanjiani has been cast as a journalist, Daisy Ridley boards Imax’s “Asteroid Hunters,” “Best Summer Ever” leads off a festival, Shelley Duvall gets an honor and “Dark Harvest” lands at MGM. PROJECT LAUNCH Kumail Nanjiani will star in the political thriller “The Independent,” which is being introduced to buyers [...]

  • Balloon

    'Balloon': Film Review

    On paper, the plight of a pair of families fleeing 1979’s East Germany in a hot air balloon sounds like fabricated fodder for a spy novel. But as implausible as it sounds, this “The Mysterious Island”-esque grand escape from Deutschland’s then walled-in, oppressive slice really did happen. And nearly four decades after being the subject [...]

  • J.D. Dillard Star Wars

    New 'Star Wars' Movie in Development With 'Sleight' Director, 'Luke Cage' Writer

    Lucasfilm is developing a new “Star Wars” feature film with “Sleight” writer-director J.D. Dillard and “Luke Cage” writer Matt Owens, Variety has confirmed. The project is still in its very early stages, and all further details — characters, location, time period within the “Star Wars” creative galaxy — remain a mystery. That includes whether Dillard would [...]

  • Foster Boy

    Shaquille O'Neal on Why Foster Care Is the Great Untold Story

    It’s no secret that I have suffered some losses lately. For better or worse, my pain and grief are public. But I understand the opportunity to face the pain, learn from it, and model a behavior. I wouldn’t want it any other way. But there are hundreds of thousands of kids across the U.S. — [...]

  • Emerald Run

    'Emerald Run': Film Review

    “Emerald Run” is one of the weirdest hodgepodges to make its way to theater screens and digital platforms in quite some time. Unfortunately, oddness is just about the only thing this muddled little indie has going for it. Despite the game efforts of lead actor David Chokachi and attractive lensing by DP Michael Caradonna, the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content