The Palm Springs Short Film Festival awarded its best of the fest prize to “Behind the Mirrors,” directed by Julio O. Ramos. The Panavision Grand Jury award went to Andrew Nackman’s “Paulie,” while Rajinder Sawhney won the future filmmaker award for his U.K. short “Khaana.”

Animation winner was Belgium’s “Nuru,” “Dura Lex” won live action short over 15 minutes, Norway/Greenland production “The Devil’s Ballroom” won live action short under 15 minutes and Denmark’s “The Record Breaker” won docu short.

Audience awards went to “A Curious Conjunction of Coincidences,” by Joost Reijmers, for live action short; “Mr. Christmas,” by Nick Palmer, for documentary short and “The Boy in the Bubble,” by Kealon O’Rourke, for animation short.

Student winners at the June 19-25 festival, which is designated by AMPAS as an award-qualifying festival, included “Bear Me” by Katarzyna Wilk for best student animation; “Hatch” by Christoph Kushnig for student live action short over 15 minutes; “Behind the Mirrors” for student live action short 15 minutes and under and “The Battle of the Jazz Guitarist” and “Julian” for student docu short.

The Alexis Award for Best Emerging Student Filmmaker went to “Kiss Me,” directed by Jules Nurrish, and the Bridging the Borders Award, presented by Cinema Without Borders, went to “Road to Peshawar,” directed by Hammad Rizvi.