You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Film composer Richard Robbins dies

Oscar nominee composed scores of Merchant Ivory films

Richard Stephen Robbins, who composed the scores for most Merchant Ivory films, drawing two Oscar nominations in the process, died on Nov. 7 in Rhinebeck, N.Y., following a long struggle with Parkinson’s disease. He was 71.

Robbins drew Academy Awards nominations for original score for his work on “Howards End” and “The Remains of the Day.”He composed the score to almost every Merchant Ivory film from “The Europeans” (1979) to 2005’s “The White Countess.” He went on to compose the scores for films including “Heat and Dust,” “Quartet,” “Maurice,” “A Room With a View,” “Mr. & Mrs. Bridge” and “Jefferson in Paris,” utilizing a variety of styles ranging from jazz to the sounds of India.

The composer was introduced to filmmakers Ismail Merchant and James Ivory by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, the screenwriter behind most of their films, whose daughter he was teaching.

Robbins’ first film work came in “Sweet Sounds,” a documentary about gifted 5-year-old music students, conceived and directed by Robbins and produced by Merchant and Ivory.

Popular on Variety

Robbins also directed the 1993 documentary “Street Musicians of Bombay” (1993), centering on the street life of Bombay.

In 1994 he collaborated with painter Michael Schell on “Via Crucis,” a musical and visual collage representing the Stations of the Cross.

Robbins’ work was honored at a 1996 benefit concert held at Carnegie Hall and supporting AIDS research.

He was born in South Weymouth, Mass., and began his musical studies at age 5. He graduated from the New England Conservatory and continued his studies in Vienna.

Robbins is survived by his longtime partner, Michael T. Schell; four brothers; and several nieces and nephews.

Contributions may be made to Columbia-Greene Humane Society, 125 Humane Society Road, Hudson, NY 12534.

More Scene


    Donna Karan, Mary-Louise Parker Honored at David Lynch Foundation's Women of Vision Awards

    Donna Karan, Mary-Louise Parker and Deborra-Lee Furness were celebrated for their charitable work at the David Lynch Foundation’s 2019 Women of Vision Awards. “We are all being guided to come together as one. There is so much chaos in the world right now,” Karan said, while accepting her Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual luncheon on [...]

  • Bill Hader

    Bill Hader, Greg Berlanti, Margie Cohn and Cindy Holland Inducted Into Variety Hall of Fame

    Variety’s annual Hall of Fame ceremony mixed comedy, gratitude and warmth at the annual awards ceremony Tuesday night at the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills. Because the class of 2019 celebrates technical innovation and achievement across film, TV, digital, video games and music. The honorees — Greg Berlanti, Bill Hader, Cindy Holland, Dametra Johnson-Marletti, [...]

  • Billy Porter FNAA

    Billy Porter Explains Why Fashion 'Can and Should' Be Activism

    On Tuesday in New York City, a handful of fashion’s marquee names, including Kenneth Cole, Tommy Hilfiger, Steve Madden and Pete Nordstrom, and many of its muses, including Billy Porter, Lena Waithe, Adriana Lima and Paris Hilton, gathered to celebrate the annual Footwear News Achievement Awards — or, as it’s more colloquially dubbed, the “Shoe Oscars.” Activism and the potential for designers to spur [...]

  • Tiffany Haddish Black Mitzvah

    Barbra Streisand Gives Tiffany Haddish Star of David Necklace for Her 'Black Mitzvah'

    Tiffany Haddish rang in her 40th birthday Tuesday night by celebrating her black and Jewish heritage with a star-studded “Black Mitzvah” party. One of Haddish’s famous friends, Barbra Streisand, was noticeably absent from the festivities, but sent the comedian a special memento for the occasion. “She got me this beautiful Star of David,” Haddish told [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content