Fantastic Fest has awarded its top kudos to “I Declare War,” “Flicker,” “Vanishing Waves,” “Here Comes the Devil,” “New Kids Nitro” and “The American Scream.”

The Austin-based genre fest gave the audience award to “I Declare War,” directed by Robert Wilson & Jason Lapeyre and focused on children playing war.

“Flicker,” directed by Patrik Eklund, won the Next Wave category, along with best director going to Charles de Lauzirika for “Crave,” screenplay to Max Porcelijn for “Plan C.” Actor awards went to Michael Eklund for “Errors of the Human Body” and Alina Levshin for “Combat Girls.”

Kristina Buozyte’s “Vanishing Waves” won the picture, director and screenplay awards in the “Fantastic Features” category. Acting awards went to Rene Bitorajac for “Vegetarian Cannibal” and Jurga Jutaite for “Vanishing Waves.”

Adrian Garcia Bogliano’s “Here Comes the Devil” swept the horror category with actor awards going to Francisco Barreiro and Laura Caro.

Magnet Releasing bought North American rights to “Here Comes the Devil” Thursday night at its U.S. premiere. Barreiro and Caro portray parents whose preteen son and daughter inexplicably reappear after being lost overnight on a desolate mountainside.

Steffen Haars & Flip Van der Kuil won the comedy award for “New Kids Nitro.” Dario Russo won the director award in the category for “Danger 5;” best screenplay went to “John Mitchell” for “The History of Future Folk.” Chapman To (“Vulgaria” and Rina Takeda (“Dead Sushi”) won the acting awards in the category.

Michael Stephenson’s “The American Scream” won the documentary trophy.