Eight elected to WGA West board

Members include incumbents Fugate, Goodman, Kiernan

Members of the Writers Guild of America West have elected eight candidates — including three incumbents — for two-year slots on its board of directors.

The incumbents include Katherine Fugate (with 840 votes), David A. Goodman (651) and Kathy Kiernan (585). Also elected were Chip Johannessen — the top vote-getter with 870 votes — along with Michael Oates Palmer (790), John Aboud (723), Scott Alexander (684) and Marjorie David (650).

Aboud was well known as a strike captain during the 2007-08 WGA strike. Johannessen is a former board member.

Candidates were announced in July, leading to a cordial campaign without attacks between candidates. Key issues raised included enforcement of the Minimum Basic Agreement, digital issues that were at the forefront of the strike and prepping for the next round of negotiations with the congloms.

“The foundation of a responsive guild is vigorous MBA enforcement,” Aboud said in his candidate statement. “There is no better use of our resources. Tough times for writers have emboldened the companies to disregard the MBA. We feel pressure to let it slide. And we don’t have to.”

David Shore, who was voted on to the board in the 2010 election, was the leader of the remaining candidates, with 563 votes, or 23 short of being elected. Other candidates were Alexander Cary, Terrence Coli, Meg LaFauve, Jordan Mechner, Eric Small and Barbara Turner.

In last year’s election, members moved toward moderation by electing Christopher Keyser to a two-year term as president by a three-to-two margin over former president Patric Verrone.

Participation rate was about 15%, in line with the usual figure in non-presidential elections. The WGA West has about 8,000 members.

Members of the Writers Guild of America East also elected 10 candidates for its council seats, including six incumbents.

The winners of the seven open freelance seats are: John Auerbach, Walter Bernstein, Gina Gianfriddo, Terry George, Jenny Lumet, Lara Shapiro and Richard Vetere. Auerbach, Bernstein, Gionfriddo and George are incumbents.

All three candidates up for the three open staff seats were voted in: Arthur Daley, Patrick Mason and Ted Schreiber. Daley and Schreiber are incuments.

The WGA West and WGA East jointly negotiate the guild’s master contract, which expires on May 1, 2014.

More Film

  • Jennifer Lopez Owen Wilson

    Jennifer Lopez-Owen Wilson Film 'Marry Me' Moves Back to Universal From STX

    The Jennifer Lopez-Owen Wilson romantic comedy “Marry Me” has moved from STX back to its original home, Universal Pictures. STX previously took over the project in April. Kat Coiro is directing from a script written by John Rogers and Tami Sagher, with a rewrite by Harper Dill. Colombian singer/rapper Maluma has joined the cast and [...]

  • Austin Butler to Star as Elvis

    Austin Butler to Star as Elvis in Baz Luhrmann's Biopic

    Baz Luhrmann’s Elvis Presley biopic has found its king of rock ‘n’ roll. After numerous screen tests, Austin Butler has been tapped to play Elvis Presley in Luhrmann’s next feature film for Warner Bros. The studio tested with a handful of actors in full hair and make-up at the end of June to see who [...]

  • 'The King's Man' Trailer Debuts With

    'The King's Man' Trailer Showcases Secret Service's Origins

    Disney is promising plenty of sword-fighting, gunplay and devastation in its first teaser trailer for the Fox spy comedy prequel “The King’s Man.” The studio unveiled a first look Monday that sets the stage for an origin story of the private British  intelligence service, portrayed in the two previous films in the franchise: 2014’s “Kingsman: The [...]

  • Emma Stone Damien Chazelle Babylon

    Emma Stone Eyes Damien Chazelle's Next Film 'Babylon'

    “La La Land” director Damien Chazelle is heading back to Hollywood for his next feature film “Babylon,” and Emma Stone is in early talks to star. Sources say Chazelle has met with a handful of suitors over the past couple weeks, and Paramount and Lionsgate are both vying to land the project. While Chazelle previously [...]

  • Jennifer Lopez

    2019 Imagen Awards Nominations: Jennifer Lopez, Antonio Banderas and More

    Jennifer Lopez and Antonion Banderas are among this year’s Imagen Awards nominees, which span a range of categories including informational programming, on-air advertising, outstanding individual performances and prime time programming in film and television. The Imagen awards were first established in 1985 upon recommendation from TV veteran Normal Lear in an effort to recognize more [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content