Films from Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, Russia and Blighty will compete for the European Film Academy’s European Discovery Award for young, upcoming helmers.

The Prix Fipresci for a first feature will be given out at the 25th European Film Awards in Malta on Dec. 1. Nominees are decided by a seven-member committee of EFA board members, EFA members and members of Fipresci, the Intl. Federation of Film Critics.

The nominees are “Teddy Bear” from Denmark, helmed by Mads Matthiesen; “Reported Missing” from Germany, helmed by Jan Speckenbach; “Kauwboy” from the Netherlands, helmed by Boudewijn Koole; “Twilight Portrait” from Russia, helmed by Angelina Nikonova; and “Broken,” from U.K. helmer Rufus Norris.

“Broken,” “Kauwboy” and “Teddy Bear” are playing in the 56th BFI London Film Festival, which wraps on Sunday.