The Writers Guild of America East has announced 13 candidates for its 10 open council seats, including seven incumbents.

The 10 candidates for the seven open freelance seats are: John Auerbach, Walter Bernstein, Gina Gianfriddo, Terry George, Michael Kantor, Jenny Lumet, John Marshall, John Rinaldi, Laura Shapiro and Richard Vetere. Auerbach, Bernstein, Gionfriddo, George and Marshall are incumbents.

Three candidates are up for the three open staff seats: Arthur Daley, Patrick Mason and Ted Schreiber. Daley and Schreiber are incuments.

Results will be announced Sept. 21, the day after the WGA East annual membership meeting.

The WGA East has about 4,000 members.

Candidates in recent elections have focused on new-media jurisdiction and compensation, the key issue during the 100-day strike of 2007-08.