The Whistler Film Fest will host for the first time Variety’s 10 Screenwriters to Watch, presented with Amazon Studios. Honorees are Katie Dippold (“The Heat”); Patrick Aison (“Wunderkind”); Reid Carolin (“Magic Mike”); Scott Rothman & Rajiv Joseph (“Draft Day”); Ted Melfi (“St. Vincent de Van Nuys”); Derek Connolly (“Safety Not Guaranteed”); Bill Dubuque (“The Judge”); Chris Terrio (“Argo”); Kelly Marcel (“50 Shades of Grey”); and Ken Scott (“Starbuck”).

The scribes will join Variety’s executive editor Steven Gaydos for an afternoon discussion Dec. 1.

“This year’s honorees represent the best of the next generation of cinematic storytellers, both in front of and behind the cameras,” said Whistler’s director of programming Paul Gratton. “It all starts, of course, with the script, and so we are delighted to host Variety’s 10 Screenwriters to Watch.”

Fest adds a magic touch by shining the spotlight on Daniel Radcliffe. On Nov. 30, the “Harry Potter” star, will take part in an intimate moderated conversation. Radcliffe is in Vancouver shooting “Horns,” based on Joe Hill’s supernatural novel.

Rashida Jones (“Parks and Recreation,” “Celeste & Jesse Forever”) will be honored with the Whistler’s Trailblazer Award for acting and scripting. Eric Beckman, founder and CEO of toon distrib Gkids, is the recipient of the animation kudo.

The Borsos jury includes producer Martin Katz, actor-director Helen Shaver and thesps Rachelle Lefevre (“Barney’s Version”) and Liane Balaban (“One Week”). They will present the $15,000 Borsos Award for Canadian feature, as well as a new prize for performance in a Borsos competition film.

Documentary jury includes the Sundance Institute’s Bird Runningwater, actress Sarain Boylan (“Bon Cop, Bad Cop,”), and Brian D. Johnson, movie critic for Maclean’s magazine.