You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

ShowEast honorees: Confab’s kudo klatch

ShowEast 2012

As the U.S. heads to the polls, ShowEast attendees will be celebrating winners of their own. The annual confab will pass out 14 individual awards, including the newly created Bingham Ray Independent Spirit Award, and induct seven Hall of Fame members.

Mexico’s Attorney General of the Republic, Marisela Morales, will be honored with ShowEast’s Anti-Piracy Latin American Government Leadership Award. “Marisela has made great strides in the fight against movie piracy,” says Robert Sunshine, ShowEast exec director.



Popular on Variety


The Bingham Ray Independent Spirit Award, in honor of the late exec’s dedication to independent films, is being presented to Eamonn Bowles, Ben Barenholtz, Tom Prassis and Arnie Sawyer. The award is given to individuals who have shown exemplary leadership in independent cinema.



Zach Beebee, VP of exhibitor marketing at Relativity Media, will receive the Al Shapiro Distinguished Service Award. “Zach has come a long way to become a strong leader in his company,” Sunshine says. His enthusiasm “has a powerful impact on everything he accomplishes.”



The Special Award for Achievement for Technical Contribution to the Motion Picture industry is being presented to Jack Cashin, founder and CEO of USL. Cashin revolutionized sound recording, with achievements in motion pic soundtrack reproduction and the projection screen analyzer.



Jose Patricio Daire Barrios, prez of Hoyts Chile and Cinemundo, will receive the Intl. Achievement Award in Exhibition for helping “the growth of multiplexes in Latin America,” Sunshine says.



ShowEast’s Intl. Distributor of the Year honoree is Martin Iraola, senior VP of Walt Disney Co. in Latin America and country manager for Walt Disney Co. Argentina, “You could not ask for a more dedicated leader … (who) has helped bring film to so many moviegoers in Latin America,” Sunshine says.



Prexy of domestic theatrical distribution for Lionsgate, Richard Fay will receive the Salah M. Hassanein Humanitarian Award. Fay, Sunshine says, “has been at the forefront in supporting humanitarian and charitable organizations both within and outside the cinema exhibition and distribution communities.”



Owner and CEO of Harkins Theaters Dan Harkins will recieve the Show ‘E’ Award, for unparalleled accomplishment in the industry. Harkins pushed the chain into innovative territory with midnight movies and the longest running 3D film fest.



The Award of Distinction for services to the film industry is being given to Susie Beiersdorf and Hank Lightstone. Beiersdorf, VP of sales for Sony Electronics’ digital cinema division, manages accounts for AMC Theaters and Regal Cinemas. Lightstone is senior veep and head film buyer for the Film Group.



Hall of Fame inductees are honored for serving the motion picture industry with distinction.

Chuck Goldwater, president of Cinedigm Media Services Group since 2005, has overseen deals with the Hollywood studios and independent distributors in their digital conversion.

AMC Entertainment’s president of film Sonny Gourley has helped the chain transition to the megaplex era, continuing to make moviegoing experience a priority.

Bert Livingston most recently served as 20th Century Fox’s senior VP and co-general sales manager for domestic distribution, before retiring after 29 years.

Jorge Peregrino is the former senior VP of distribution for Paramount Latin America, and the prez of the Association of Distributors of Rio de Janeiro, the largest database on Brazil’s film market.

John Santikos, head of Santikos Theaters, transformed the chain into the largest family-owned theater circuit in Texas with expansion outside of San Antonio and addition of 3D and HD tech.

Joan Corrado, a 39-year vet at Universal Pictures, Boston branch, before being promoted from sales distrib exec to branch VP and manager in 2002, is being honored posthumously.

Stan Reynolds is VP of Reynolds & Reynolds, the largest movie theater insurance writer in the U.S.

Exhibs face the strange

More Scene

  • Oscar Menu to Be Almost All

    Oscar Menu to Be Almost All Plant-Based

    The Oscars are getting greener. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced on Monday that it will be offering entirely plant-based menus at today’s Oscar Nominees Luncheon and then in the Dolby Theatre lobbies prior to the 92nd Academy Awards on Feb. 9. The post-ceremony Governors Ball will be 70% plant-based, and 30% [...]

  • 'Little America' Team on Creating Immigration

    'Little America' Team on Creating the Immigration Anthology Series for Apple TV Plus

    Respect and authenticity were the key words at the screening of the new Apple TV Plus series “Little America” on Thursday in Los Angeles. Produced by Kumail Nanjiani and Emily V. Gordon and inspired by true stories featured in Epic Magazine, “Little America” is an anthology series focused on immigration. For executive producer Sian Heder, [...]

  • 2018 Sundance Film Festival - Egyptian

    Sundance 2020: The Ultimate Party Guide

    Heading to Park City? From intimate dinners and cocktail parties to late night bashes (that end just in time to head to brunch), there’s plenty to keep this year’s film festival attendees out of the cold between screenings. Here is Variety’s ultimate party guide for Sundance 2020:  Thursday, Jan. 23 “Summertime” Premiere Party Lyft Lounge, 8-11 [...]


    Jenna Andrews Hosts Zhavia Ward, Lennon Stella at Jed Foundation Fundraiser

    Jenna Andrews, the Canadian singer-songwriter, record producer and executive, hosted a pre-Grammy event in partnership with The Jed Foundation at Alice and Olivia in West Hollywood on Tuesday.  The non-profit Jed is dedicated to protecting emotional health and preventing suicide. The foundation has partnered with high schools and colleges in order to “strengthen mental health, [...]

  • Coldplay - Chris Martin

    Grammys 2020: The Ultimate Party Guide

    Let the music play, indeed. The Grammys are just days away and dozens of parties are happening every night this week leading up to the big day, Sunday, Jan. 26. And the partying continues with several bashes following the ceremony. (All events listed are by invitation only unless marked otherwise; this list is being updated [...]

  • Jared Harris arrives at the 26th

    No, Jared Harris is Not Playing Doctor Octopus in Marvel's 'Morbius'

    The first-ever trailer for Marvel and Sony’s next Spider-man spinoff “Morbius” left comic book fans reeling with theories. While the plight of the main character, Dr. Michael Morbius (Jared Leto) – a scientist dying of a rare blood disease who accidentally turns himself into a vampire – seemed ripped right out of the comics, the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content