You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Silver Linings’ wins Toronto’s People’s Choice

Cooper, DeNiro pic earns coveted prize

David O. Russell’s “Silver Linings Playbook” won the Toronto Intl. Film Festival’s People’s Choice Award, it was announced at a brunch awards ceremony early Sunday afternoon.

News of the pic’s win leaked via Twitter more than an hour before the ceremony, with congratulations and “official” stories popping up all over the Web well before any kudos were handed out.

The Weinstein Co.’s “Silver Linings Playbook,” which stars Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence and Robert De Niro, world preemed on the fest’s Gala screen last week.

The aud award, widely considered an early boost toward kudos season recognition, has previously gone to such titles as “Slumdog Millionaire” and “The King’s Speech.”

Ben Affleck’s “Argo” was first runner-up for aud kudos, Eran Riklis’ “Zaytoun” second-runner-up.

Martin McDonagh’s “Seven Psychopaths” nabbed the aud award for favorite pic in the Midnight Madness program; first runner-up was Barry Levinson’s “The Bay,” second runner-up Don Coscarelli’s “John Dies at the End.”

Bartholomew Cubbin’s “Artifact” took the aud prize for top docu. Christopher Nelius and Justin McMillan’s “Storm Surfers” was first runner-up, Rob Stewart’s “Revolution” second runner-up.

Xavier Dolan’s “Laurence Anyways” scooped the jury prize for best Canadian feature film and a cash prize of C30,000 ($30,886). Pic world preemed at Cannes, screened in Special Presentations in Toronto and opens in English-Canadian theaters on Friday.

The award for best Canadian first feature and its $15,443 prize was split between Brandon Cronenberg’s “Antiviral,” which screened in Special Presentations, and Jason Buxton’s “Blackbird,” which preemed in Discovery. Fest director Cameron Bailey confirmed both pics will receive the full amount of the cash prize.

The Intl. Critics’ (FIPRESCI) jury prize for best film in the Discovery program went to Swedish helmer Mikael Marcimain’s “Call Girl” while French helmer Francois Ozon’s “In the House” nabbed the FIPRESCI jury prize for top pic in Special Presentations.

A new prize for best first or second Asian film receiving its world or international preem at the festival went to Japanese helmer Kibou No Kuni’s “The Land of Hope,” which world preemed in Contemporary World Cinema.

The juried award for best Canadian short film and C$10,000 went to Deco Dawson’s “Keep a Modest Head.” Mike Clattenberg’s “Crackin’ Down Hard” got an honorable mention in the category.

Rola Nashef’s “Detroit Unleaded” nabbed the Grolsch Film Works Discovery Award, which includes a C$10,000 cash prize to support the winner’s next project.

List of winners for the 37th annual Toronto Film Festival Awards:

People’s Choice Award

Winner: “Silver Linings Playbook,” dir. David O. Russell

First runner-up: “Argo,” dir. Ben Affleck

Second runner-up: “Zaytoun,” dir. Eran Riklis

People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award

Winner: “Seven Psychopaths,” dir. Martin McDonagh

First runner-up: “The Bay,” dir. Barry Levinson

Second runner-up: “John Dies at the End,” dir. Don Coscarelli

People’s Choice Documentary Award

Winner: “Artifact,” dir. Bartholomew Cubbins

First runner-up: “Storm Surfers,” dir. Christopher Nelius, Justin McMillan

Second runner-up: “Revolution,” Rob Stewart

Best Canadian Feature Film (Juried)

Winner: “Laurence Anyways,” dir. Xavier Dolan

Best Canadian First Feature Film (Juried)

Winner (split): “Antiviral,” dir. Brandon Cronenberg, “Blackbird,” dir. Jason Buxton

Best Canadian Short Film (Juried)

Winner: “Keep a Modest Head,” dir. Deco Dawson

Honorable mention: “Crackin’ Down Hard,” dir. Mike Clattenberg

International Critics (Fipresci) prizes:

Winner (Special Presentations): “In the House,” dir. Francois Ozon

Winner (Discovery): “Call Girl,” dir. Mikael Marcimain

Best First or Second Feature World or International Asian Film Premiere

Winner: “The Land of Hope,” dir. Sion Sono

Discovery Award

Winner: “Detroit Unleaded,” dir. Rola Nashef

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Taika Waititi Natalie Portman SDCC 2019

    Natalie Portman Weighs in on 'Thor: Love and Thunder's' Possible Breast Cancer Storyline

    Natalie Portman doesn’t know if “Thor: Love and Thunder” will include a breast cancer storyline for her character Jane Foster, but she’s definitely intrigued by the possibility. “It’s just very rare that these kinds of big entertainment films look at more serious, real-life issues,” she told Variety at L.A. Dance Project’s 8th annual fundraising gala [...]

  • Luxbox Closes Sales on Venice Film

    Luxbox Closes Sales on Venice Film 'Sole' to U.S., France (EXCLUSIVE)

    Fiorella Moretti and Hedi Zardi’s Paris-based sales agency Luxbox has closed several territory deals on Carlos Sironi’s “Sole,” which screened in Venice Film Festival’s Orizzonti section and Toronto Film Festival’s Discovery sidebar. The film just won the audience award at Pingyao Intl. Film Festival in China and a Special Jury Mention for the lead actors [...]

  • Puerto Rican singer Ozuna poses during

    Ozuna Joins Vin Diesel in 'Fast & Furious 9'

    Ozuna, one of Latin music’s fastest-rising stars, has signed with UTA for representation. And to kick off the relationship, the agency has landed him a role in “Fast & Furious 9.” He is also in talks to join the film’s soundtrack. Justin Lin, who directed “Fast & Furious 6,” returns to direct the ninth installment [...]

  • Writers vs Agents Packaging War WGA

    Writers Guild Boosting Efforts in Project Development Amid Agency Standoff

    The Writers Guild of America, locked in a six-month standoff with major talent agencies, has announced that it’s boosting efforts at gathering TV, streaming and film project development data to help members find new employment opportunities. The WGA made the disclosure in a message to members on Monday. The guild directed its 15,000 members to fire [...]

  • Fernando Meirelles The Two Popes

    AFI Fest Adds 'The Two Popes,' 'Aeronauts,' Alan Pakula Tribute

    The American Film Institute has added “The Two Popes” and “The Aeronauts” as galas during the upcoming AFI Fest along with a tribute to the late director Alan Pakula. AFI had previously announced that the romantic drama “Queen & Slim” would launch the 33rd annual festival on Nov. 14 and close with the world premiere [...]

  • Julie Andrews

    Julie Andrews Recalls Husband Blake Edwards' Battle With Depression

    The line to see Julie Andrews at the 92nd Street Y wrapped around the square of a sprawling New York City block. Seventy years since the start of her career, 60 since she asked “Wouldn’t It Be Loverly?” as Lerner and Loewe’s first Eliza and 50 since she sang “The Sound of Music” before the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content