Summertime, and the living was easy? Tell that to the ever- busy awards biz …

— Monday is the deadline for
filmmakers to submit documentary features to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts
and Sciences for Oscar consideration.

— “Rust and Bone” star Marion Cotillard will receive the actress award for at the Hollywood Awards on Oct. 22.

Gere— Richard Gere will receive the Golden Starfish Award for lifetime achievement in acting at the Hamptons International Film Festival, while Ann Roth will get the same for costume design.

— Robin Swicord has been elected to the AMPAS Board of Governors, representing the writers branch. She succeeds Frank Pierson, who passed away in July, and joins current branch governors Bill Condon and Phil Robinson.

— Larry
King will receive the Pacific Pioneer Broadcasters’ Art Gilmore Career
Achievement Award on Friday at the Sportsman’s Lodge in
Studio City. Presented annually to one of industry’s
pioneer broadcasters, past recipients include Bob Hope, Betty White, Vin Scully, Monty Hall, and last year
Lily Tomlin.

Hitchcock— “Hitchcock,” with Anthony Hopkins as the title character and Scarlett Johansson, Helen Mirren and James D’Arcy supporting, will open Nov. 23.

— “Lincoln” will be the closing film Nov. 8 at the American Film Institute’s AFI Fest.

— Guy Lodge writes interestingly about the evolution of the Oscar foreign-language category for HitFix.

Variety deputy editor Peter Caranicas will receive
the Technicolor William A. Fraker Award for outstanding journalistic
contributions in cinematography from the International Cinematographers
Guild on Sept. 28, as part of the 16th annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards
(which will be held Sept. 30). Also receiving honors are David Stump
(Canon Camera Award for the advancement of digital technology in film
and television), Dejan Georgevich (educational contributions to the art
and craft of cinematography) and Nancy Schreiber (Kodak
Award for mentoring young cinematographers).

— The Cinema Audio Society has shifted its nominations announcement date to Jan. 8. The online voting period remains Dec. 12-Jan. 4, and the awards will be presented Feb. 16 at the Millennium Biltmore.

— The CAS also announced it is adding a new category for outstanding sound mixing for an animated motion picture, and that it will separate the TV series category into halfhour and hourlong categories. There
will no longer be a DVD Original Programming category. Also, ADR and foley mixers will be getting more individual recognition.

— The finalists for the Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, now in their 57th year, are Kathleen Coggshall (UCSF), George Larkin
Berkeley), Marissa Matteo (UCLA), Alaric Smeets (UCLA) and Stephen Wolf (UCLA). They were selected from more than 250 screenplays,
stage plays and teleplays submitted from eight University of California campuses.  Past winners include: Francis Ford Coppola, Eric
Roth, Allison Anders and Pam Gray. The $15,000 first prize, $7,500
second prize, $4,000 third prize, $2,000 and $1,000 honorable mentions will be
awarded Nov. 8 at UCLA.

— The
Hollywood Post Alliance has announced the nominees of its 2012 HPA Awards and  the 2012 recipients of the organization’s HPA
Engineering Excellence Award
: Sony
Electronics, Cinnafilm, Dolby Laboratories and Crossroads Systems.