‘Hugo,’ ‘Potter,’ ‘Tattoo’ top ADG Awards

Pics earn top honors at Art Directors Guild kudos

Hugo,” “Harry Potter” and “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” earned top honors from the Art Directors Guild at the 16th annual Excellence in Production Design ceremony held Saturday at the Beverly Hilton.

Dante Ferretti earned the trophy for best period film for “Hugo,” Stuart Craig was recognized for fantasy film for “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2” and Donald Graham Burt earned contemporary film honors for “Dragon Tattoo.”

Gary Oldman also presented “Harry Potter” producer David Heyman with the Cinematic Imagery Award. Heyman accepted with the team that brought the franchise to life over 10 years. “There was really no ego; there was only pride,” he said about translating J.K. Rowling’s books to the screen.

On the TV side, half-hour single-camera production designer Richard Berg won for “Modern Family,” and hourlong honors went to Bill Groom for “Boardwalk Empire.” “Mildred Pierce’s” Mark Friedberg earned TV movie/miniseries kudos.

Paula Poundstone, in a white tuxedo and satin top hat, hosted the evening for the third year.

Ben Vereen launched the festivities with two numbers to warm up the crowd, followed by an address from ADG president Thomas A. Walsh, who implored honorees to keep speeches “brief but inclusive,” which got a laugh from the crowd.

Steve Bass, who was nommed twice in the awards/music/gameshow category, won for “The 84th Annual Academy Awards.” “They’re silly and they’re fun, and they’re something as a kid I’d never thought I’d be doing,” Bass said of his kudocast specialty.

“Saturday Night Live” production designers Keith Ian Raywood, Eugene Lee, Leo Yoshimura and N. Joseph De Tullio took home an award for best episode of a multicamera, variety or unscripted series.

Commercial honors went to Neil Spisak for his work on a “Call of Duty” spot.

A lifetime achievement award was presented to Tony Walton, who was introduced via video by Julie Andrews, while designers William Darling, Alfred Junge and Robert F. Boyle were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The ceremony also marked the 75th anniversary of the guild, a milestone the ADG will recognize with special events throughout the year.