In the final piece of the film academy leadership puzzle before it selects a new president, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has elected six new governors to its board: Lisa Cholodenko, Bill Condon, Dick Cook, John Knoll, Scott Millan and Dante Spinotti.

In addition, Tom Hanks, Jim Bissell, Rob Epstein, Mark Goldblatt, Leonard Engelman, Rob Friedman and Bill Kroyer were also reelected to their posts, while returning to the board after a hiatus are Michael Mann, Arthur Hamilton and Kathleen Kennedy.

The announcement comes two weeks before the board of governors convenes to vote on a successor to Tom Sherak, whose three-year tenure as prexy is ending. Having completed three consecutive terms on the board, term limits will force Sherak to depart.

Cook, Kennedy, Gale Anne Hurd, Cheryl Boone Isaacs (who is co-producing the fourth-annual Governors Awards ceremony), Hawk Koch and Phil Robinson are among the names that have emerged as possibilities as the next president, but none is a heavy favorite, much less a lock.

The eventual choice could amount to a referendum on how much change needs to come to the Acad and the Oscars.

The new and returning governors will join a majority of governors whose terms continue, including Hanks with Ed Begley, Jr. and Annette Bening atop the actors branch, Cholodenko and Mann with Kathryn Bigelow for directors, Cook with Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme for execs, Kennedy with Hurd and Koch for producers, and Condon with Frank Pierson and Robinson for writers.

Filling out the board are Spinotti with John Bailey and Richard Crudo for cinematographers, Bissell with Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland for designers, Epstein with Kathryn Bigelow and Michael Moor for documentary, Goldblatt with Anne V. Coates and Michael Tronick for film editors, Hamilton with Charles Fox and David L. Newman for music, Friedman with Isaacs and Marvin Levy for public relations, Kroyer with Jon Bloom and John Lasseter for short films and feature animation, Millan with Curt Behlmer and Don Hall for sound and Knoll with Craig Barron and Richard Edlund for visual effects.

Engelman is the sole governor for makeup and hairstylists.

Cholodenko is completing the remaining two years on the term of Paul Mazursky, who stepped down from the directors branch at the end of 2011.