LONDON — Toonpics by Spanish, Czech and U.K. directors will make up the nominees for the European Film Academy animated feature film award, it was announced Tuesday.

The EFA has nominated “Alois Nebel,” a Czech-German-Slovak co-production helmed by Tomas Lunak; “Arrugas” (Wrinkles) from Spain, helmed by Ignacio Ferreras; and U.K. company Aardman Animation’s “The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists,” helmed by Aardman co-founder Peter Lord, for the 2012 award.

The nominees were selected by a five-person international committee, and will be voted on by the 2,700 EFA members ahead of the European Film Awards ceremony, which takes place on Dec. 1 in Malta.