You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Disney pics populate Annie noms

'Brave,' 'Frankenweenie,' 'Ralph' join five other pics in feature race

“Brave,” “Rise of the Guardians,” and “Wreck-It Ralph” lead the Annie Awards with 10 nominations each.

ASIFA-Hollywood chose eight animated pics, including three from the Disney-Pixar stable, to compete for the top prize at the 40th annual Annie Awards. Nominees are Pixar’s “Brave,” Disney’s “Frankenweenie” and “Wreck-It Ralph,” Sony’s “Hotel Transylvania,” Focus Features’ “ParaNorman,” DreamWorks Animation’s “Rise of the Guardians,” Aardman’s “The Pirates! Band of Misfits” and GKids’ “The Rabbi’s Cat.”

DWA’s “Dragons: Riders of Berk” led the TV contenders with 10 nominations.

Disney led in overall nominations with 33. Add in Pixar’s 10 bids and it was a big day for the Mouse House family. DWA and Nickelodeon followed with 26 apiece across all categories. No other studios came within striking distance of animation’s big three.

ASIFA-Hollywood prexy Frank Gladstone said that there were more submissions this year than ever before. “I’m very excited by this year’s slate of nominees,” he said.

At least 30 toon studios are represented in this year’s contest.

“How cool the wider community recognized us and so many of our crew with all these nominations,” said Sam Fell, who is nommed for directing “ParaNorman.” “It’s a really competitive year, so I certainly wasn’t counting on it.”

The field for animated pics has been incredibly full this year, with 21 toons making the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences’ Oscar-eligible list, assuring five nominees in the category this year.

The Annie winner doesn’t always go on to win the Academy Award for animated feature. They mirrored each other from the time the Acad added the category in 2001 until 2006, when “Happy Feet” won the Oscar after “Cars” had won the Annie. Since then, the Oscars have mirrored the Annies every other year, including last year’s winner “Rango.”

Another milestone in animation this year is the number of stop-motion pics. Three are vying for kudos this year: “Frankenweenie,” “ParaNorman” and “The Pirates.”

Said Chris Butler, nommed writer and co-director of “ParaNorman”: “I think it’s clear there are a lot of filmmakers out there who love stop-motion and are wanting to use it to tell their stories. If you look at the three stop-mo movies this year alone, they’re so different, both aesthetically and in tone. I think, at the very least, they show that stop-motion is still a vital and vibrant artform that is going to be around for a long time.”

In the main television categories, nominees included episodes of “Adventure Time,” “Dragons: Riders of Berk,” “Penguins of Madagascar,” “SpongeBob SquarePants,” “Fairly Odd Parents” and “The Legend of Korra” for best TV production for children. Episodes of “Archer,” Bob’s Burgers,” “Motorcity,” “MAD,” “Robot Chicken” and “South Park” will vie for best general audience animated production.

For the first time, the Annies has a category for student film. Nominees are “Can We Be Happy Now,” by Tahnee Gehm, “Defective Detective” by Avner Geller and Steve Lewis, “Head Over Heels” by Timothy Reckart, “I Am Tom Moody” by Ainslie Henderson, “Ladies Knight” by Joseph Rothenberg, “Origin” by Jessica Poon, “The Ballad of Poisonberry Pete” by Karen Sullivan and “Tule Lake” by Michelle Ikemoto.

Special laurels will be handed out to Argentine animator Oscar Grillo, filmmaker Terry Gilliam and Disney’s Mark Henn, who will receive the Winsor McCay Award for lifetime achievement in animation at the ceremony. Howard Green, Disney’s VP of studio communications, will receive the June Foray Award for charitable contributions to the industry. The Ub Iwerks Award for technical achievements will go to Toon Boom Animation Pipeline.

The Annie Awards will be held Saturday, Feb. 2, at UCLA’S Royce Hall.

The nominees:

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Beyonce Knowles'The Lion King' film premiere,

    ABC Announces Behind-the-Scenes Special for Beyoncé's 'Lion King' LP

    ABC has announced a new behind-the-scenes look into the making of Beyoncé’s “The Lion King: The Gift” LP, which is set to air September 16 on ABC at 10 p.m. EST. Titled “Beyoncé Presents: Making the Gift,” the new hour-long special will allow viewers to “experience the process” behind the “Lion King” companion album, according [...]

  • Jason Lei Howden, Samara Weaving and

    Daniel Radcliffe On Acting With Weapons Nailed To Your Hands

    How did “Guns Akimbo” director and writer Jason Lei Howden convince Daniel Radcliffe to play a character with guns nailed to his hands? Easy, he sent him the script. Radcliffe joined Howden and “Ready or Not’s” breakout star Samara Weaving in the Variety’s Toronto Film Festival studio, presented by AT&T to talk the limits of [...]

  • Box Office: It Chapter Two Maintains

    Box Office: 'It: Chapter Two' Continues International Reign With $47 Million

    Pennywise’s reign of terror hasn’t wavered: Warner Bros.’ “It Chapter Two” maintained first place on box office charts, led by another strong showing overseas. The sequel, based on Stephen King’s horror novel, generated another $47 million at the international box office for a foreign tally of $169 million. After two weeks of release, “It Chapter [...]

  • First still from the set of

    Taika Waititi’s 'Jojo Rabbit' Wins Top Prize at Toronto Film Festival Awards

    Taika Waititi’s “Jojo Rabbit” has won the coveted People’s Choice Award at this year’s Toronto International Film Festival. The honor positions the film for a potential Oscar run and bolsters its awards chances. That’s good news for Fox Searchlight, which must have been disappointed by the lackluster critical reception for the movie, a dark comedy [...]

  • Constance Wu and Jennifer Lopez star

    Box Office: 'Hustlers' Racks Up Solid $33 Million Debut, 'Goldfinch' Bombs

    “Hustlers” rolled in the Benjamins this weekend, collecting $33.2 million when it debuted in 3,250 North American theaters. Boosted by rave reviews and stellar word of mouth, “Hustlers” beat expectations and now ranks as the best start for an STX film, along with the biggest live-action opening weekend for stars Jennifer Lopez and Constance Wu. [...]

  • German Cinema Is Diverse, But Is

    German Cinema Is Varied, But Is It Too Risk Averse?

    One of the strengths of German cinema is its diversity, says Simone Baumann, managing director of the national film promotion agency German Films. As well as the three films at Toronto directed by female German helmers, there was also German filmmaker Thomas Heise’s documentary film essay “Heimat Is a Space in Time.” Then there were [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content