You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

DGA Noms Spread the Wealth

The Directors Guild of America announced the nominees for its outstanding directorial achievement in motion pictures today, an award that is a good predictor for both the best director and best picture Oscar categories. This year’s noms include Woody Allen for “Midnight in Paris,” David Fincher for “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo,” Alexander Payne for “The Descendants,” Martin Scorsese for “Hugo” and Michel Hazavanicius for “The Artist.”

While Allen, Payne and Hazavanicius have been discussed in terms of Oscar for months, particularly because all three of their films have been considered leading contenders for noms, the noms for Fincher and Scorsese seem to offer a little more insight into the way the Academy could go on Jan. 24.

Fincher has three DGA noms — he was previously tapped for “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” and “The Social Network” — while Scorsese won in 2006 for “The Departed” earned the DGA’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2002.

A few notable names were absent from the list, including three-time DGA Award winner Steven Spielberg; Terrence Malick, who has one previous DGA nom for “The Thin Red Line”; Stephen Daldry, who was nominated in 2002 for “The Hours”; and Tate Taylor, who directed “The Help,” which has been considered an Oscar frontrunner since its theatrical release this summer.

Over the last decade, the DGA winners have lined up with best picture and best director 90% of the time. In fact, the only year the guild diverged was in 2002 when the DGA chose Rob Marshall and Academy voters chose Roman Polanski for “The Pianist.”

Follow me on Twitter @VarietyAwards.

More Film

  • 'Curse of La Llorona' Box Office

    Box Office: 'Curse of La Llorona' Conjures $2.8 Million on Thursday Night

    “The Curse of La Llorona,” the latest entry in Warner Bros. and New Line’s “Conjuring” universe, conjured $2.75 million from Thursday preview showings, while “Breakthrough,” a faith-based offering from Fox-Disney, brought in $1.5 million from its second day of screenings. “La Llorona’s” haul tops recent horror counterparts “Pet Sematary” and “Escape Room,” which each took [...]

  • Chinese Films Make the Cannes Lineup,

    Cannes: Chinese Films Make the Lineup, but Will They Make It to France?

    Cannes has chosen two mainland Chinese titles for its official selection: Diao Yinan’s “Wild Goose Lake,” in competition, and Zu Feng’s “Summer of Changsha,” for Un Certain Regard. Both films appear to have received the necessary official approvals from Chinese authorities to premiere overseas. But their journey to the Cote d’Azur is by no means [...]

  • Festival director Thierry Fremaux speaks to

    Cannes: Thierry Fremaux on the Lineup's Record Number of Female Directors, American Cinema and Political Films

    The Cannes Film Festival has unveiled a lineup for its 72nd edition that includes some high-profile Hollywood titles, genre movies and films from 13 female directors. The official selection has been applauded by many for mixing established auteurs like Pedro Almodovar (“Pain and Glory”), Terrence Malick (“A Hidden Life”) and Xavier Dolan (“Matthias and Maxime”) [...]


    Film Review: 'Nureyev'

    It would be absurd to say that Rudolf Nureyev lived, or danced, in anyone’s shadow. He was a man who leapt and twirled and flew onstage, all muscle but light as a feather, with a freedom and force that reconfigured the human spirit. There’s no denying, though, that over the last few decades, and especially [...]

  • Die Kinder Der Toten review

    Film Review: 'Die Kinder Der Toten'

    The hills are alive (or rather, undead), with the sound of music (also mastication and the moaning of zombies) in Kelly Copper and Pavol Liska’s experimental, dialogue-free, home-movie-style riff on Elfriede Jelinek’s “Die Kinder Der Toten” (The Children of the Dead). A seminal text in Jelinek’s native Austria, the 1995 book has never been translated [...]

  • Idol review

    Film Review: 'Idol'

    How many twists can a plot undergo before it snaps? This, more than any of the many political, moral and personal conundrums that snake through “Idol,” seems to be the question writer-director Lee Su-jin is most interested in posing with his extravagantly incomprehensible sophomore feature. A seedy political thriller by way of grisly revenge movie [...]

  • The Last to See Them review

    Film Review: 'The Last to See Them'

    Truman Capote’s “In Cold Blood” stretches long as a late-evening shadow over Italian director Sara Summa’s feature debut “The Last to See Them.” The Italian title, “Gli Ultimi Viderli Vivere” which translates literally to “The Last to See Them Alive,” is also the heading of the opening chapter of Capote’s book. The setting is, similarly, [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content