You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Children,’ ‘Pearblossom’ among AFI additions

Fest announces Young Americans and New Auteurs selections

The AFI Fest has announced the films for the Young Americans and New Auteurs categories for this year’s fest, to be held Nov. 1 to Nov. 8 in Hollywood.

Young Americans features works from emerging U.S. filmmakers, whose works will be eligible for the Audience Award in the category. Eleven films have been announced: “All the Light in the Sky,” “Ape,” “Electrick Children,” “The International Sign for Choking,” “Kid-Thing,” “Only the Young,” “Pearblossom Highway,” “Somebody Up There Likes Me,” “Starlet,” “Sun Don’t Shine” and “Tchoupitoulas.”

The New Auteurs category highlights first- and second-time filmmakers from around the country. Nine films have been announced: “After Lucia,” “Antiviral,” “Clip,” “Eat Sleep Die,” “Here and There,” “A Hijacking,” “In the Fog,” “Not In Tel Aviv” and “Simon Killer.”

“These are films that have been garnering acclaim and winning awards at festivals all over the world and are now being showcased together for the first time,” said fest director Jacqueline Lyanga, who pointed out that last year’s selection included Michael Roskam’s Oscar-nominated “Bullhead” and Julia Loktev’s “The Loneliest Planet.” Works in the New Auteurs category will be eligible for a grand jury award, with jury members Dana Harris, David Hudson, Gregg Kilday and Berenice Reynaud.