ASC taps five lensers for feature noms

Digital makes inroads with two noms in the category

For only the second time in its 26 years of handing out awards, the American Society of Cinematographers nominated two directors of photography who shot their films entirely on digital: Robert Richardson, whose photography on “Hugo” using the ARRI Alexa also reps the second 3D inclusion in the category after “Avatar,” and Jeff Cronenweth, who used the RED EPIC in shooting David Fincher’s remake of “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.”

The ASC, whose 300, invitation-only members have always been strong proponents of film as the superior visual format, also nominated “The Tree of Life’s” Emmanuel Lubezki, whose photography on the Terrence Malick film has dominated the critics organizations d.p. winners so far, as well as Hoyt Van Hoytema for Tomas Alfredson’s “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy” and Guillaume Schiffman’s b&w cinematography for Michel Hazanavicius’ “The Artist.”

The winner will be announced at the ASC Awards presentation at the Hollywood and Highland Grand Ballroom on Feb. 12.

“These five cinematographers have created works of art that serve the story and the director’s vision in unique and engaging ways,” said ASC awards commitee chair Richard Crudo in a statement.

In 2008, the ADC’s nominees included “Slumdog Millionaire” (Anthony Dod Mantle) and “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” (Claudio Miranda), both digitally shot.

Regarding Schiffman’s work, it’s worth noting that two out of the last three nominees for b&w cinematography — Christian Berger for “The White Ribbon” and Roger Deakins for “The Man Who Wasn’t There” — went on to win the award.

“Hugo” represents Richardson’s 10 nom by the org, while Cronenweth was recognized last year for “The Social Network” and Lubezki won in 2007 for “Children of Men.” Schiffman and Van Hoytema are first-time nominees.

Since the ASC inaugurated its awards ceremony in 1986 when Cronenweth’s father, Jordan, won for “Peggy Sue Got Married,” the d.p. org’s winners and those of the Academy have overlapped 10 times, including four of the last six years. And only twice in that span of time has the Oscar winner not been nominated by the ASC.

More Film

  • Roman Polanski extradition

    Academy Responds to Roman Polanski: 'Procedures Were Fair and Reasonable'

    UPDATE: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has responded to a lawsuit from director Roman Polanski that claimed he was unfairly expelled from the industry organizaton. “The procedures taken to expel Mr. Polanski were fair and reasonable. The Academy stands behind its decision as appropriate,” a spokesperson said. Polanski is suing the Academy [...]

  • Lorraine Warren dead

    Lorraine Warren, Paranormal Investigator Who Inspired 'The Conjuring,' Dies at 92

    Lorraine Warren, paranormal investigator and demonologist whose life inspired franchises like “The Conjuring” and “The Amityville Horror,” has died. She was 92. Warren’s son-in-law Tony Spera confirmed the news. Spera said on Facebook, “She died peacefully in her sleep at home.” He continued, “She was a remarkable, loving, compassionate and giving soul. To quote Will [...]


    'Exorcist' Star Max Von Sydow Doesn't Let Age Define His Roles

    Max von Sydow turned 90 this month, which is a milestone for most people, but age has always seemed incidental to the actor. When he played the elderly, frail Father Merrin in “The Exorcist,” von Sydow was 44 — meaning he was the same age Bradley Cooper is today. In the 1950s, von Sydow had [...]

  • 'Changing the Game' Documentary

    Watch the First Trailer for Trans Documentary 'Changing the Game' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Another hurdle for trans rights could quite literally be the track and field hurdle. Transgender student athletes are put in the spotlight in the forthcoming documentary “Changing the Game,” set to premiere at 2019 Tribeca Film Festival. Variety has the world premiere of the doc’s first teaser trailer, which gives an in-depth look into the [...]

  • 'Curse of La Llorona' Box Office

    Box Office: 'Curse of La Llorona' Conjures $2.8 Million on Thursday Night

    “The Curse of La Llorona,” the latest entry in Warner Bros. and New Line’s “Conjuring” universe, conjured $2.75 million from Thursday preview showings, while “Breakthrough,” a faith-based offering from Fox-Disney, brought in $1.5 million from its second day of screenings. “La Llorona’s” haul tops recent horror counterparts “Pet Sematary” and “Escape Room,” which each took [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content