You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

The Writers Guild of America East has selected Keith Patterson as the recipient of its documentary screenplay award for “Ann Richards’ Texas.”

The kudo was announced Saturday at the AFI-Discovery Channel Silverdocs Festival. The docu covers Richards’ rise in the Democratic Party and her turn as governor of Texas.

The award carries a prize of $1,000 and a five-year membership in the WGA East Nonfiction Writers Caucus.

The other nominees were “Plimpton! Starring George Plimpton as Himself,” written, directed and produced by Thomas Bean and Luke Poling; “Photgraphic Memory,” written by Ross McElwee in collaboration with Marie Emmanuelle Hartness, directed by Ross McElwee; “Portrait of Wally,” written, directed and produced by Andrew Shea, written and produced by David D’Arcy; “Chasing Ice,” written by Mark Monroe; “Beauty Is Embarrassing,” written by Neil Berkeley, Chris Bradley, and Kevin Klauber, directed by Berkeley, produced by Berkeley and Bradley.