You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Merged 3D org elects governors, officers

Tom Cosgrove, Dan Schinasi to co-chairs of I3DS & 3D@Home

Intl. 3D Society & 3D@Home has announced its new board of governors and officers.

The org, formed on Aug. 16 via a merger between the Intl. 3D Society and the 3D@Home Consortium, includes more than 70 company and 600 individual members worldwide.

The election took place at the combined group’s annual meeting at the studios of DreamWorks Animation.

“Our newly elected board and officers reflect an unparalleled breadth of experience across all key areas of the 3D ecosystem,” said 3net CEO Tom Cosgrove, who was named co-chair of I3DS & 3D@Home. “Our combined organization and executives will work in collaboration with our global partners to advance the proliferation of 3D content and expand the opportunities for consumer adoption of this dynamic medium around the world.”

“Coupled with the increasing number of 3D TVs in the home and the broad range of content available, we expect the demand for 3D content to accelerate over the next few years,” said Samsung Electronics America senior marketing manager Dan Schinasi, who was elected as the org’s other co-chair. “This board will continue to identify opportunities to leverage current and future expertise in 3D production, content distribution channels and consumer education to drive 3D adoption.”

Also named as officers: Howard Lukk, Disney, as co-chair elect, with Disney’s Mike DeValue as his alternate; Kappei Morishita, Panasonic, as first vice chair-treasurer; Peter Lude, Sony, as vice chair-secretary, with Sony’s Toshino Yuhaku as alternate; and Phil Corriveau, Intel, as vice chair.

DreamWorks Animation’s Jim Mainard, 3D inventor Lenny Lipton, I3DS and 3D@Home prexy Jim Chabin and Dunn & Pariser’s Pat Dunn will serve on the executive committee.

Elected to serve on the board of governors: Sony Pictures’ Grant Anderson, THX’s Chris Armbrust, d.p. Matt Blute, BSkyB’s John Cassy, Chromium Labs 3D’s Chuck Comisky, XpanD 3D’s Maria Costeira, Dolby Labs’ Ron Geller with Jana Spotts as alternate, RealD’s Rick Heineman, MobiTV’s Kay Johansen, Samsung’s Louis B.J. Kim, Vizio’s Lily Knowles, MasterImage 3D’s Matt Liszt, 3ality Technica’s Steve Schklair, StereoD’s William Sherak, National Geographic’s Lisa Truitt and Pixar’s Bob Whitehill.

Elected chairs of international committees include Panasonic’s Masayuki Kozuka, Asia; CCTV’s Wenhua Ding, China; Korea Telecomm’s YY Park, South Korea; Waseda U.’s Takashi Kawai, Japan; Liege U.’s Jacques Verly, Europe; and BSkyB’s Cassy, U.K.

“Eight of the top 10 grossing movies of all time have adopted 3D as a key component to their financial and artistic success,” Chabin said. “‘Titanic 3D’ has broken all box office records in China this year. With nearly 50 TV channels on the air worldwide, and more than 100 3D Blu-ray discs available on the market, this digital art form is swiftly colonizing an ever-increasing array of screens.”

Popular on Variety

More Digital

  • Bristol, CT - March 13, 2017

    Mina Kimes Helps ESPN Kick Off 'Daily' Podcast

    Mina Kimes is preparing to take ESPN into a new frontier. The sports-media giant has launched a “SportsCenter” for Snapchat and tested baseball telecasts for kids. Now it’s hoping to set up shop in another media venue. Starting tomorrow, the Disney-backed company launches “ESPN Daily,” a weekday morning podcast that aims to tap its vast [...]

  • Neilsons Measurment Problems TV Digital

    AT&T's Ad-Tech Unit Xandr Buys Clypd To Help Place TV Commercials More Precisely

    Xandr, the AT&T ad-technology unit, has purchased a new company that helps advertisers use data to place commercials in front of the audiences most likely to want to watch them The AT&T division said Friday it had acquired clypd, a company that helps advertisers move forward in a growing desire by Madison Avenue to run [...]

  • AT&T Logo Building

    AT&T TV Now Price Hike Coming Next Month, Base Package to Cost $65

    AT&T is instituting a substantial price hike for its live TV streaming service AT&T TV Now: Customers who have subscribed to the service’s basic “Plus” package will see their bill go up by $15, to a total of $65 per month, starting next month. The telco has started to inform existing subscribers about the price [...]

  • Disney-Family-Movies

    Disney Family Movies SVOD Service Is Shutting Down Ahead of Disney Plus Debut

    After 11 years, Disney is pulling the plug on Disney Family Movies On Demand — with the service’s shutdown coming just days before the launch of the Mouse House’s Disney Plus. Disney Family Movies, which cost between $5-$10 per month, has been available via pay-TV providers in the U.S., including Comcast Xfinity, Charter Communications, Verizon [...]

  • Amazon Orders ‘All or Nothing: Tottenham

    Amazon Orders ‘All or Nothing: Tottenham Hotspur’ Soccer Doc Series

    Amazon has greenlit a new “All or Nothing” sports documentary series, this time following London-based soccer team Tottenham Hotspur. “All or Nothing: Tottenham Hotspur” will follow a year in the life of the team, charting the ongoing 2019-20 season. The squad made it to the final of the European Champions League last year, losing to [...]

  • Jeffrey Katzenberg

    Jeffrey Katzenberg's Quibi Picks T-Mobile as Wireless Launch Partner

    Quibi, the short-form mobile TV service founded by Jeffrey Katzenberg, announced a pact with T-Mobile to be the official telecommunications partner for its April 2020 launch. T-Mobile will be the exclusive wireless distributor when Quibi launches next spring. However, the arrangement doesn’t mean only T-Mobile customers will be able to subscribe to Quibi: Anyone will [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content