You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

WGA announces new media noms

Winners to be announced on Feb. 19

The Writers Guild of America has announced seven nominations in its two new media awards categories plus five for videogame writing.

The WGA, which made the announcement Wednesday, will disclose the winners at its awards shows in Los Angeles and New York on Feb. 19.

Nominations in original new media writing went to “Aim High” by Heath Corson & Richie Keen; “Debt Ceiling” by Daryn Strauss; and “Jack in a Box” by Michael Cyril Creighton.

Derviative new media nods went to segments of “Jack Donaghy: Executive Superhero,” based on “30 Rock” and written by Tom Ceraulo; “Mortal Kombat: The Web Series,” written by Todd Helbing & Aaron Helbing; episodes of “Sons of Anarchy,” written by Kurt Sutter & Gladys Rodriguez; and segments of “The Walking Dead” with teleplay by John Esposito and story by John Esposito and Greg Nicotero.

It’s the second year of WGA new media writing awards, which require that work be written and produced under a WGA collective bargaining agreement with the guild determining writing credits. Judging is conducted by a panel of guild members selected for their experience in the genre.

Noms for vidgame writing included Ubisoft’s “Assassin’s Creed: Revelations,” Interactive Entertainments’s “Batman: Arkham City,” Besthesda Softworks’ “Brink,” Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment’s “Mortal Kombat” and Sony Computer Entertainment’s “UNcharted 3: Drake’s Deception.”

The nomination for “Assassin’s Creed: Revelations” named a total of 13 names including story by Alexandre Amancio, Jean Guesdon, Corey May, Darby McDevitt; multiplayer story by Stephane Blais, Richard Farrese, Jeffrey Yohalem; lead script writer Darby McDevitt; script writers Richard Farrese, Nicholas Grimwood, Corey May, Jeffrey Yohalem; Greek and Turkish ambient dialogue writer Vincenzo Beretta.

Other nominated writers announed Wedesday: for “Batman: Arkham City,” lead narrative designer Paul Crocker; story written by Paul Dini, Paul Crocker and Sefton Hill; for “Brink,” lead writer Edward “Bongoboy” Stern; for “Mortal Kombat,” story by John Vogel, Brian Chard, Dominic Cianciolo, Alexander Barrentine, Jon Greenberg; for “Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception,” written by Amy Hennig.

The WGA videogame awards, judged by members active in the field, are in their fifth year. Works must contain separate writing credits and credited game writers must have been or must have applied to become members of the WGA’s Videogame Writers Caucus at the time scripts were submitted.

Unlike its screenplay and new media awards, the WGA doesn’t require that the videogame work be performed under its jurisdiction to be eligible.

More Digital

  • Bob Bakish Variety Cover Story

    Viacom Has Acquired Pluto TV Streaming Service for $340M

    Viacom has acquired Los Angeles-based video streaming service Pluto TV for $340 million in cash, both companies confirmed Tuesday. “Today marks an important step forward in Viacom’s evolution, as we work to move both our company and the industry forward,” said Viacom CEO Bob Bakish in a statement. “Pluto TV’s unique and market-leading product, combined [...]

  • Bob PittmanVariety Entertainment Summit at CES,

    iHeartMedia Bankruptcy Plan Approved, CEO Bob Pittman's Contract Renewed

    A U.S. court has approved the bankruptcy plan of iHeartMedia, the biggest radio broadcaster in the U.S., which will shave down its crushing debt load and separate iHeartMedia from Clear Channel Outdoor Holdings. The company said chairman and CEO Bob Pittman and Rich Bressler, president, COO and CFO, have extended their contracts by four years. [...]

  • Instagram Logo

    Netflix Lets iOS Users Share Movies, Shows to Instagram Stories

    Netflix is tapping into Instagram Stories for some word-of-mouth promotion: The streaming video service rolled out a new Instagram integration Tuesday that allows iOS users to share their favorite movies and TV shows via Stories. To do so, users simply select the title of their choice within the Netflix iOS app, and then share it [...]

  • Brian Lockhart - ESPN+

    ESPN Hires NFL Media's Brian Lockhart to Head ESPN+ Original Content

    ESPN recruited Brian Lockhart, who has spent more than a decade at NFL Media, as executive producer of original content for the ESPN+ subscription-streaming service. Lockhart will oversee strategy and development for all ESPN+ original programming initiatives, including new projects as well as existing shows such as “Detail,” “More Than an Athlete,” “The Board Room,” [...]

  • Roma

    Netflix Joins the Motion Picture Association of America

    UPDATED WASHINGTON — Netflix has joined the Motion Picture Association of America, a move that reflects its evolution as a major player in the movie business. The MPAA currently has six major studios as members, and it collected about $38 million in membership dues in 2017, according to its most recent filing with the IRS. [...]

  • The Expanse

    Amazon Launching 'The Expanse' Seasons 1-3 Worldwide Ahead of Season 4 Premiere

    Amazon has acquired worldwide subscription-streaming rights to the first three seasons of “The Expanse,” the space thriller that originally aired on Syfy, leading up to Prime Video’s debut of season 4 later in 2019. Seasons 1-2 of “The Expanse” are currently available in the U.S. on Prime Video. All three seasons, comprising 36 episodes in [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content