CBS sets ‘This Morning’ prod’n team

Hard news-driven ayemcast to bow Jan. 9

CBS News has set the senior production team for its new ayemcast, “CBS This Morning,” which will replace “The Early Show” on Jan. 9.

Former “Early Show” senior producer Tom Mazzarelli will serve as senior broadcast producer under exec producer Chris Licht.

Working with Mazzarelli will be seven senior producers: Sharon Hoffman, late of “Good Morning America;” “Early Show” vets” Ryan Kadro, Bob Meyer and Kevin Rochford; former Bloomberg TV staffers Mosheh Oinounou and Eva Nordstrom; and Rachel Weintraub Riegel. Riegel worked on OWN’s “The Gayle King Show” with King, who will co-host “This Morning” with Charlie Rose and Erica Hill.

Rick Jefferson, an MSNBC alum who’s worked on NBC News programs ranging from “Hardball with Chris Matthews” to special events, has been tapped as director of production.

CBS has said “This Morning” will have a more hard-news bent that its network competitors. The strategy shift comes after numerous reinventions of “Early Show” failed to pull the Eye out of last place among the Big Three morning shows.