‘Boardwalk,’ ‘Thrones’ earn TCA noms

'FNL,' 'Justified,' 'Parks' round out top program field

“Boardwalk Empire,” “Friday Night Lights,” “Game of Thrones,” “Justified” and “Parks and Recreation” are the contenders for program of the year honors from the Television Critics Assn. for its 27th annual TCA Awards.

The first four of those series also received outstanding drama noms, with “The Good Wife” taking the fifth spot in that category. “Boardwalk” and “Thrones” were also nominated for new program alongside “Terriers,” “The Killing” and “The Walking Dead.”

“Parks” will compete in the comedy category with “Community,” “Louie,” “Modern Family” and “Raising Hope.”

“Justified” earned two individual drama noms for Margo Martindale and Timothy Olyphant, who were joined in that category by Steve Buscemi of “Boardwalk,” Peter Dinklage of “Thrones,” Jon Hamm of “Mad Men” and Julianna Margulies of “The Good Wife.”

“Parks and Recreation” landed two individual comedy noms, for Nick Offerman (who will host the Aug. 6 TCA Awards ceremony) and Amy Poehler. Other nominees in that category are Ty Burrell (“Modern Family”), Louis C.K. (“Louie”), Danny Pudi (“Community”) and Jon Stewart (“The Daily Show With Jon Stewart”).

Candidates for top reality program are “The Amazing Race,” “Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations,” “Survivor,” “The Voice” and “Top Chef: All Stars.”

In the movies, miniseries and specials category, noms went to three HBO projects (“Cinema Verite,” “Mildred Pierce” and “Too Big to Fail”) and two from PBS “Masterpiece” (“Downton Abbey,” “Sherlock”).

The TCAs also offer two historical awards. Career achievement nominees are Steven Bochco, Dick Ebersol, Cloris Leachman, David Letterman, William Shatner and Oprah Winfrey. In the running for the Heritage Award laurel, given to series with enduring impact, are “All in the Family,” “Freaks and Geeks,” “The Dick Van Dyke Show” and “Twin Peaks.”

Remaining noms went to “If God Is Willing and Da Creek Don’t Rise,” “Restrepo,” “60 Minutes,” “The Rachel Maddow Show” and “30 for 30” for achievement in news and information, as well as “A Child’s Garden of Poetry,” “iCarly,” “Nick News With Linda Ellerbee,” “R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour,” “Sesame Street” and “Yo Gabba Gabba” for achievement in youth programming.

More TV

  • Guy Fieri Walk of Fame Honor

    Food Network Orders 'Tournament of Champions' With Guy Fieri as Host

    Food Network and celebrity chef Guy Fieri are teaming up again, this time on a culinary competition program. The five-episode “Tournament of Champions” will feature 16 chefs going head-to-head in a series of challenges using ingredients and special cooking tools and equipment  while racing against the clock. The difficulty of the challenges increases with each [...]

  • Daisy May Cooper Signs on for

    Daisy May Cooper Signs on for Baby Cow Comedy 'The Witchfinder' for BBC Two

    Daisy May Cooper, the star of hit BBC comedy “This Country,” is to play a suspected witch being escorted to trial in seventeenth century England in new BBC Two comedy series “The Witchfinder.” Cooper will star alongside actor and comedian Tim Key, who plays a failing witchfinder transporting her to a trial that could change [...]

  • Sky Original Anna

    Sky Sets Post-Apocalyptic Italian Original, 'Anna,' With Wildside Producing (EXCLUSIVE)

    Comcast-backed Sky is making a new Italian original titled “Anna,” centered on a 13-year-old Sicilian girl who must contend with a viral contagion that has killed off all adults on the island. The series, which has echoes of “The Walking Dead” and “Hunger Games,” is based on a book by the same title by author-turned-director [...]

  • The Good Cop

    ‘Fauda’ Producer Yes Studios Develops Comedy Series ‘Shared Spaces’ (EXCLUSIVE)

    Yes Studios, the Israeli production-distribution company behind such hits as “Fauda,” “Your Honor” and “On the Spectrum,” is developing “Shared Spaces,” a high-concept comedy series. “Shared Spaces” is currently in development with the writer-creator Erez Aviram on board. Aviram is the co-creator of the Israeli police comedy “The Good Cop” (pictured) which was adapted in [...]

  • AMERICAN HORROR STORY: 1984 -- Pictured:

    'American Horror Story' Recap: Who Survived to See the 'Red Dawn'?

    SPOILER ALERT: Do not read if you have not yet watched “Red Dawn,” the fifth episode of “American Horror Story: 1984.” After five episodes, “American Horror Story: 1984” is moving onto another day within the story. The sun finally came up in “Red Dawn,” but not every would-be counselor at Camp Redwood survived to see it. [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content