“Murphy Brown” creator Diane English has been named recipient of the Writers Guild of America West’s Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television, honoring lifetime achievement for outstanding TV writing.

The award will be presented to English at the Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony on Feb. 5 at the Renaissance Hotel in Hollywood. Past recipients include Steven Bochco, Susan Harris, Stephen J. Cannell, David Chase, William Blinn and Larry David.

“Diane English is a total class act – a trailblazing, supremely talented writer whose groundbreaking body of work has helped to both equalize and revolutionize television, while raising the bar for insightful, caustic, and moving writing on primetime TV,” said WGA West president John Wells. “Her unique voice influenced not only a generation of women writers, but all creative artists who strive to deliver quality work.”

English has been a WGA member since 1977 and began her career at WNET/13, New York City’s PBS affiliate. In 1980, she co-wrote “The Lathe of Heaven” and received her first WGA award nomination.

She worked on “My Life as a Man,” “Classified Love,” “Foley Square” and “My Sister Sam” before creating, writing and producing “Murphy Brown,” which ran for 10 seasons on CBS and won 18 Emmy Awards — including three for English.

English later created “Love & War,” co-created “Double Rush” and exec produced “Living In Captivity.” She also wrote, produced, and directed the 2008 dramedy “The Women.”