HBO’s “The Pacific” took three noms and its “Boardwalk Empire” and ABC’s “Modern Family” scored dual bids as the Directors Guild of America announced its television nominations.

HBO led the pack overall with 14 DGA noms, announced Tuesday by guild president Taylor Hackford. Winners will be unveiled Jan. 29 at the DGA Awards in the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

“The Pacific” led in TV-miniseries nods with segments directed by Jeremy Podeswa, Tim Van Patten and David Nutter. Other bids in the category went to Mick Jackson for “Temple Grandin” and Barry Levinson for “You Don’t Know Jack.”

Jackson’s won the category three times while Van Patten’s copped two DGA trophies for “Sex and the City” segments.

Two segments of “Empire” — one directed by Allen Coulter, the other by Martin Scorsese — received drama series nominations along with a segment of “Mad Men” (Jennifer Getzinger), the final episode of “Lost” (Jack Bender) and “The Walking Dead” pilot (Frank Darabont). “Mad Men” won the category last year.

DGA nomination was Scorsese’s eighth and his first in TV. He won the DGA feature award for “The Departed” in 2006.

The two segments of “Modern Family,” directed by Steve Levitan and Michael Spiller, will face off against an episode of “30 Rock” (Beth McCarthy Miller), “The Power of Madonna” segment of “Glee” (Ryan Murphy) and “Entourage” (David Nutter). “Modern Family” won the category last year.

It was Miller’s seventh DGA nomination and her third for “30 Rock.”

“Whether it’s a 30-second commercial or a multipart miniseries, television directors are crucial to the success of any television project,” Hackford said. Musical variety noms went to Don Roy King from the “Saturday Night Live With Betty White” episode, Linda Mendoza for “Paul McCartney: The Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song in Performance at The White House,” John Moffitt for Bill Maher’s “…. But I’m Not Wrong,” Chuck O’Neil for “Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear” and Glenn Weiss for the “64th Annual Tony Awards.”

It was the seventh nom each for O’Neill and Weiss.

Reality nominations went to Hisham Abed for “The Hills,” Eytan Keller for “The Next Iron Chef,” Bryan O’Donnell for “Private Chefs of Beverly Hills: Challah Back,” Brian Smith for “Master Chef” and Bertram Van Munster for “The Amazing Race.” It was Van Munster’s sixth DGA nomination.

Daytime serials noms went to Larry Carpenter for “One Life to Live,” Sally McDonald for “The Young and the Restless,” Jill Mitwell for “One Life to Live,” Owen Renfroe for “General Hospital” and Michael Sitch for “The Bold and the Beautiful.” Mitwell’s been nominated eight times and Carpenter’s scored seven times — all 15 for “One Life to Live” segments.

The Disney Channel took three noms in children’s programs — Stuart Gillard for “Avalon High,” Michael Grossman for “Starstruck” and Paul Hoen for “Camp Rock 2: The Final Jam.” Other nods went to Douglas Barr for NBC’s “Secret of the Mountain,” Eric Bross for Nickelodeon’s “The Boy Who Cried Wolf” and Mikael Salomon for Cartoon Network’s “Unnatural History: Pilot.”

Commercial nominees were Frank Budgen of Gorgeous Enterprises for spots for Sony Brava and Honda; Craig Gillespie of MJZ for Cars.com, Snickers, Career Builders; Tim Godsall of Biscuit Filmworks for DirecTV, Hyundai, HBO; Tom Kuntz of MJZ for Old Spice Man and Stacy Wall of Imperial Woodpecker for Nike.

“As the DGA celebrates its 75th anniversary, we salute the critical role of the director in TV and are proud to honor the tremendous range of excellence found in the projects nominated today,” Hackford said.