It was the official Canadian music-industry consecration of Arcade Fire at this year’s edition of the Juno Awards, with the Montreal alt-rockers nabbing four trophies, more than any other artist. Arcade Fire won album of the year for “The Suburbs”, group of the year, songwriter of the year ( for “Ready to Start”, “We Used To Wait”, and “Sprawl II”), and alternative album (also for “The Suburbs”).

The Juno Awards, Canada’s music awards, were doled out at a ceremony at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto Sunday night, with the show broadcast live on the CTV Network.

The multiple wins for Arcade Fire follow the ultra-hot outfit’s recent win for best album at the Grammy Awards, a win that took many by surprise. Shortly after the Grammys, Arcade Fire also won for best international group and international album at the Brit Awards in London.

Arcade Fire has been acclaimed in the media for years and has won over many celebrity fans from early on, including David Bowie and David Byrne, but the Grammy win was seen as a turning-point for the band, bringing them more mainstream profile than ever before.

Canadian pop star Justin Bieber also won two Junos, for pop album (for “My World 2.0”) and the Juno Fan Choice Award. Bieber was in Rotterdam Sunday, on tour, and accepted his awards via pre-taped video acceptance speeches.

Canadian rock icon Neil Young was voted artist of the year, which led him to quip on stage: “What year is this?” Young was also given, as previously announced, the Allan Waters Humanitarian Award and his moving acceptance speech was one of the highlights of the night. On Saturday night, in a non-broadcast ceremony, Young also won for adult alternative album for “Le Noise”. Daniel Lanois also won as producer of the year for both “Le Noise” and his own project, the self-titled Black Dub album.

Single of the year went to Young Artists for Haiti for the hit “Wavin’ Flag” and London, Ontario-based singer-songwriter Meaghan Smith was named new artist of the year.

The Juno Awards also included a tribute to Shania Twain, who was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame, and a 40th anniversary tribute to the Junos with Jim Cuddy, Sarah Harmer, Sarah Slean and Serena Ryder performing songs by Gordon Lightfoot, Joni Mitchell, Neil Young and The Band.

Other winners included: Katy Perry’s “Teenage Dream”, international album; Said the Whale, new group; Johnny Reid’s “A Place Called Love”, country album; Matthew Good’s “Vancouver”, rock album; Shad’s “TSOL”, rap recording; Deadmau5’s “Sofi Needs a Ladder”, dance recording; Quanteisha’s “Stars”, R&B/Soul recording; “Rush: Beyond the Lighted Stage, music DVD; Caribou’s “Swim”, electronic album.