“The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity,” F. Murray Abraham, Ethan Hawke, Laurie Metcalf and Andre Braugher were among the winners of Off Broadway’s 2011 Obie Awards.

Kristoffer Diaz’s “Chad Deity,” seen last year in a Second Stage production, took the award for new American play, which comes with a $1,000 check, while thesp Abraham was honored for sustained excellence of performance.

A special lifetime achievement kudo went to Spanish-language troupe Repertorio Espanol and its a.d., Rene Buch.

Playwrighting gongs went to Samuel D. Hunter (“A Bright New Boise”) and Jonas Hassen Khemiri (“Invasion!”), while the list of 10 thesps to win in the acting category also included Hawke (“Blood from a Stone”), Braugher (“The Whipping Man”), Metcalf (“The Other Place”), Hamish Linklater (“The School for Lies”) and Scott Shepherd (“Gatz”).

Directing kudos went to Austin Pendleton (“Three Sisters”), Leigh Silverman (“In the Wake,” “Go Back to Where You Are”) and Roger Rees and Alex Timbers, co-directors of “Peter and the Starcatcher.”

A handful of Obies come with cash prizes, including $2,500 grants that this year went to Off Broadway companies Metropolitan Playhouse and Wakka Wakka. The Ross Wetzsteon Award, named after the founder of the Obies, went to the Belarus Free Theater along with $1,000.

David Hyde Pierce and S. Epatha Merkerson hosted the Gotham event Monday, with presenters including Alec Baldwin, Jim Parsons, John Laroquette and Andrew Rannells (“The Book of Mormon”).

The 56-year-old awards are run by the Village Voice.