Lincoln Center Theater’s production of “Other Desert Cities” and Naked Angels’ “This Wide Night” led the pack of 2011 nominations for the Off Broadway-centric Lucille Lortel Awards.

Lead actress category includes Edie Falco for “This Wide Night” and Laurie Metcalf for just-opened MCC offering “The Other Place,” while the lead actor race includes Andre Braugher for Manhattan Theater Club’s “The Whipping Man” and Michael Shannon for “Mistakes Were Made.” Helmer Joe Mantello competes against himself in the helmer category for his stagings of “Desert Cities” and “The Other Place.”

Longtime a.d. of Manhattan Theater Club Lynne Meadow will receive a lifetime achievement kudo, while attorney Gary Glaser picks up the inaugural Service to Off Broadway Award for his legal counsel to the Off Broadway League.

Noms in 14 categories were announced ahead of a May 1 ceremony that will be hosted by Samantha Bee (“The Daily Show”) and Zach Braff.

Top play race sees “Other Desert Cities” vie for the award with another LCT offering, “The Coward,” as well as “In the Wake” at the Public, “Peter and the Starcatcher” at New York Theater Workshop” and “The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity” at Second Stage.

The new tuner contenders include the Public’s “Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson,” eligible from the Off Broadway run that preceded the fall stint on the Rialto, Primary Stages’ “In Transit,” the New Group’s “The Kid,” Theaterworks USA’s “We the People: America Rocks!” and the Playwrights Horizons-Vineyard Theater co-production of “The Burnt Part Boys.”

“In Transit,” “Starcatcher,” “In the Wake,” “Chad Deity” and “The Coward” were all among the shows racking up four noms apiece, as was marathon “Gatsby” reading “Gatz,” the sole nominee in the category of alternative theaterical experience.

Along with Falco and Metcalf, lead actress contenders include Tracee Chimo (“Bachelorette”), Elizabeth Marvel (“The Little Foxes”) and Michele Pawk (“A Small Fire”). Besides Braugher and Shannon, the lead actor category is rounded out by Desmin Borges (“Chad Deity”), Christian Borle (“Peter and the Starcatcher”) and Jeremy Strong (“The Coward”).

The May 1 kudo ceremony will be held at New York U.’s Skirball Center. Presented by the Lucille Lortel Foundation and the Theater Development Fund, the Lortels ceremony will this year benefit entertainment-centric service org the Actors Fund.


“In the Wake” – Produced by The Public Theater; Written by Lisa Kron.
“Other Desert Cities” – Produced by Lincoln Center Theater; Written by Jon Robin Baitz.
“Peter and the Starcatcher” – Produced by New York Theatre Workshop; Written by Rick Elice.
“The Coward” – Produced by Lincoln Center Theater/LCT3; Written by Nick Jones.
“The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity” – Produced by Second Stage Theatre; Written by Kristoffer Diaz.

“Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson” – Produced by The Public Theater and Center Theatre Group in association with Les Freres Corbusier; Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Book by Alex Timbers.
“In Transit” – Produced by Primary Stages, the Baruch/Viertel/Routh/Frankel Group, Jane Bergere, Jodi Glucksman, Ken Greiner, Chip Meyrelles, Christina Papagjika, and Janet Rosen; Music, Lyrics and Book by Kristen Anderson-Lopez, James-Allen Ford, Russ Kaplan, Sara Wordsworth.
“The Burnt Part Boys” – Produced by Playwrights Horizons and Vineyard Theatre; Music by Chris Miller, Lyrics by Nathan Tysen, Book by Mariana Elder.
“The Kid” – Produced by The New Group; Music by Andy Monroe, Lyrics by Jack Lechner and Book by Michael Zam.
“We the People: America Rocks!” – Produced by Theatreworks USA; Songs by Brad Alexander (Music) and Kevin Del Aguila (Lyrics), Eli Bolin (Music) and Sam Forman (Lyrics), Joe Iconis (Music and Lyrics), Tommy Newman (Music and Lyrics), Ryan Scott Oliver (Music and Lyrics), Adam Overett (Music and Lyrics), Mark Weiner (Music) and Erik Weiner and Jordan Allen-Dutton (Lyrics).

“Mike Birbiglia’s My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend” – Produced by Ron Delsener and Mike Lavoie; Written and Performed by Mike Birbiglia.
“Through the Night” – Produced by Daryl Roth in association with Jana Robbins; Written and Performed by Daniel Beaty.

“Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes (Part 1)” Millennium Approaches, Part 2 Perestroika – Produced by Signature Theatre Company; Written by Tony Kushner.
“The Collection & A Kind of Alaska” – Produced by Atlantic Theater Company; Written by Harold Pinter.
“The Little Foxes” – Produced by New York Theatre Workshop; Written by Lillian Hellman.
“The Misanthrope” – Produced by The Pearl Theatre Company; Written by Moliere, Translated into English Verse by Richard Wilbur.
“Three Sisters” – Produced by Classic Stage Company; Written by Anton Chekhov, Translated by Paul Schmidt.

“Gatz” – Produced by The Public Theater.

John Collins, “Gatz”
Anne Kauffman, “This Wide Night”
Joe Mantello, “Other Desert Cities”
Joe Mantello, “The Other Place”
Leigh Silverman, “In the Wake”

Tracy Bersley, “The Witch of Edmonton”
Steven Hoggett, “Peter and the Starcatcher”
Danny Mefford, “Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson”
Annie-B Parson, “Orlando”
Gail Pennington Crutchfield, “Freckleface Strawberry”

Desmin Borges, “The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity”
Christian Borle, “Peter and the Starcatcher”
André Braugher, “The Whipping Man”
Michael Shannon, “Mistakes Were Made”
Jeremy Strong, “The Coward”

Tracee Chimo, “Bachelorette”
Edie Falco, “This Wide Night”
Elizabeth Marvel, “The Little Foxes”
Laurie Metcalf, “The Other Place”
Michele Pawk, “A Small Fire”

Michael Chernus, “In the Wake”
Noah Galvin, “The Burnt Part Boys”
David Patrick Kelly, “When I Come to Die”
David Margulies, “After the Revolution”
Thomas Sadoski, “Other Desert Cities”

Laura Heisler, “Kin”
Linda Lavin, Other “Desert Cities”
Deirdre O’Connell, “In the Wake”
Kristen Schaal, “The Coward”
Lois Smith, “After the Revolution”

Rachel Hauck, “This Wide Night”
Anna Louizos, “In Transit”
Jan Versweyveld, “The Little Foxes”
Donyale Werle, “Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson”
Donyale Werle, “Peter and the Starcatcher”

Gabriel Berry, “The Coward”
Jennifer Caprio, “In Transit”
Cait O’Connor, “The Witch of Edmonton”
Emily Rebholz, “This Wide Night”
David Zinn, “Other Desert Cities”

Betsy Adams, “When I Come to Die”
Mark Barton, “Gatz”
Matt Frey, “This Wide Night”
Jesse Klug, “The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity”
Ben Stanton, “The Whipping Man”

Mikhail Fiksel, “The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity”
Fitz Patton, “The Other Place”
Mic Pool, “The 39 Steps”
Jon Weston, “In Transit”
Ben Williams, “Gatz”


Lynne Meadow

Gary Glaser