Some Hollywood biggies, including Ryan Kavanaugh and David O. Russell, assembled Sunday at the Parker Palm Springs to salute the next generation of filmmakers with Variety’s 10 Directors to Watch. Variety exec editor Steven Gaydos noted that previous honorees have included Alfonso Cuaron, Christopher Nolan and Michael Winterbottom. He told the six helmers on hand: “Of course your job from here on is to make us look good.”

Russell presented the Indie Impact Award to Mark Wahlberg, who noted, “I’ve made a lot of movies, but the good ones are the indies.”

On hand for the salute were “The “Fighter’s” David Hoberman, Eric Johnson, Todd Lieberman and Paul Tamasy; Roadside’s Howard Cohen and Eric d’Arbeloff; producers Jamie Patricof, David Permut and Dean Zanuck; Taylor Hackford and Helen Mirren; Robert Duvall; and Palm Springs Fest’s Darryl MacDonald and Helen du Toit.