Soundtrack Awards set Discovery noms

Breakout work to be lauded at Ghent Fest's closing night

The composers behind “Hanna” (the Chemical Brothers), “X-Men: First Class” (Henry Jackman) and “Limitless” (Christopher Paul Leonard-Morgan) are among the nominees for the 11th annual World Soundtrack Awards’ Discovery of the Year competition, to be handed out Oct. 22 at the 11th annual WSAs at the Kuipke Events Centre in Ghent, Belgium. Also nominated are Alex Heffes (“The First Grader,” “The Rite”) and iZLER (“Hamill,” “Natural Selection”).

Discovery award is significant in that more than one past honoree went on to win an Oscar for subsequent work, including Michael Giacchino (“Up”) and Gustavo Santaolalla (“Brokeback Mountain”). Santaolalla was initially recognized by the WSAs in 2004 for his “21 Grams” score, while Giacchino was honored in 2005 for “The Incredibles.”

Last year’s Discovery recipient, Abel Korzeniowski (“A Single Man”), went on to score Madonna’s King Edward/Wallis Simpson biopic, “W.E.,” which just bowed in Venice.

Nominees are determined by the World Soundtrack Academy, which is made up of 313 international members from the film music world.

Ceremony marks the closing night of the Ghent Film Festival, now in its 38th year and the first of a handful of fests that trains the spotlight on film music.