The Writers Guild Foundation has tapped Barbara Corday as its new president, replacing Chris Brancato, along with seven new trustees to the board.

Corday’s the first female president of the foundation, which made the announcement Tuesday. It noted that Brancato had served the maximum number of terms allowed.

Corday co-created “Cagney & Lacey,” and was presdent of Columbia Pictures Television, head of prime-time programs at CBS and chair of the film and television production arm at the USC School of Cinema and Television.

New trustees are publicist Craig Bankey, screenwriter Lowell Ganz, agent Nancy Josephson, and TV writer-producers Marta Kauffman, Bill Lawrence, Jan Oxenberg and David Shore. Trustees are elected for three year terms.

New officers are Holly Goldberg Sloan as VP of development, Elias Davis as treasurer and Ligiah Villalobos as secretary. Tom Schulman continues as exec VP and Dan Petrie Jr. as VP programs.

Remaining as trustees are Neal Baer, Barbara Benedek, Chris Brancato, Diane English, Jonathan Estrin, Kevin Falls, Seth Freeman, Dean Hargrove, Charlie Hauck, Robert Nelson Jacobs, Georgia Jeffries, Jay Kogen, Jim Kouf, Peter Lefcourt, Andrew Marlowe, Shonda Rhimes, Howard A. Rodman, Robin Swicord, Matthew Weiner, Larry Wilmore and John Sacret Young.

The Writers Guild Foundation is operated separately from the Writers Guild of America West and is funded by voluntary contributions. Programs include the Writers Guild Foundation Shavelson-Webb Library at WGA West headquarters, educational seminars and conferences, a writing program for military veterans, a screenwriting workshop program in disadvantaged high schools, a video history program and academic outreach programs.