You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Lionsgate betting on ‘Hunger Games’

Minimajor dividing futuristic trilogy into four films

In a vote of confidence for “The Hunger Games” as a potential franchise, Lionsgate revealed plans to make Suzanne Collins’ futuristic trilogy into four films — and investors took a shine to the company’s recent positive earnings outlook with a 4% uptick in its stock.

Lionsgate execs made the ambitious disclosure Wednesday during a conference call for Wall Street analysts with studio motion picture group prexy Joe Drake, asserting that “Games” drew strong interest when it was offered for international sales at the recent Cannes Film Market.

The minimajor, which had not previously said how many “Games” films it would make, gave no indication Wednesday as to how it would divide the stories. But the approach echoes decisions on other franchise properties — Warner Bros.’ split of the seventh and final Harry Potter book into two movies, Summit’s decision to make two films from the fourth and final “Twilight” book, and New Line/MGM’s splicing of “Lord of the Rings” prequel “The Hobbit.”

The Lionsgate announcement came a day after it reported better than expected earnings for the fourth quarter ended March 31. The minimajor’s stock gained 26¢ to $6.19 in trading Wednesday on the New York Stock Exchange. That’s still well off company’s 52-week high of $7.65, which it hit in October.

Lionsgate acquired feature rights to the trilogy in March 2009, with Nina Jacobson producing at her Color Force banner with Jon Kilik. Story is set in a bleak future where North America has been divided into a dozen districts — with each forced to send a boy and a girl to compete in a televised battle to the death once a year.

“Lionsgate’s showing a lot of confidence in the property,” said Matthew Harrigan, an analyst with Wunderlich Securities. “They’ve said they negotiated a good deal for the rights because they acquired it before it got wildly popular.”

First part of the novel was published in 2008 and the second installment, “Catching Fire,” followed in 2009. The third, “Mockingjay,” was released last August.

Lionsgate has set a March 23, 2012, release date for the first “Hunger Games.” Gary Ross is directing, with Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth starring.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Parasite

    Mexico’s Cinepolis Launching New Arthouse Distributor with ‘Parasite’ (EXCLUSIVE)

    MORELIA, Mexico – There’s a new arthouse player in town. Cinepolis, one of the top exhibitors in the world, is launching a new arthouse film distribution unit in Mexico called Sala de Arte Distribucion. Focusing on auteur films that have premiered at leading film festivals worldwide, Sala de Arte launches in December with “Parasite,” Bong [...]

  • US director Francis Ford Coppola holds

    Francis Ford Coppola's Slam on Marvel Films Fuels Debate Sparked by Martin Scorsese

    Disparaging remarks by Francis Ford Coppola have further inflamed the debate sparked by Martin Scorsese and his criticism of Marvel and other comic book films. At a press conference in Lyon, France, where he was being honored at the Lumiere festival, the “Godfather” director said he fully agreed with Scorsese’s assessment and went even further [...]

  • Angelina Jolie is Maleficent and Elle

    China Box Office: Hollywood Sweeps Up With ‘Maleficent’ and ‘Gemini Man’

    The first Hollywood blockbusters to hit China after the country’s big National Day holiday have, as expected, swept away holdover patriotic titles that had previously ruled the box office. “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” edged out another new release, “Gemini Man,” to lead the pack with a $22.5 million opening weekend. While Disney’s “Maleficent” arrived in [...]

  • Maleficent Mistress of Evil

    Korea Box Office: 'Maleficent 2' Debuts on Top, Deposes 'Joker'

    Given a Thursday opening, “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” debuted on top of the South Korean box office. The Walt Disney release earned $4.56 million from 612,000 admissions over four days. The fantasy adventure film accounted for 37% of total weekend box office in the country. “Joker” slipped to second after remaining on top for two [...]

  • Inside an Inox Leisure multiplex in

    India's Inox Multiplex Chain Reveals Ambitious Growth Plans

    Indian multiplex chain Inox Leisure has revealed ambitious plans to more than double its existing screen capacity of 600. The company is planning to add 900 more screens across the country over the next decade. “That’s the realistic answer, but my desire is to do it over the next five years,” Siddharth Jain, director, Inox [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content