You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

The Directors Guild of America has tapped Ed Sherin, Katy Garretson and Dennis Mazzocco to receive its lifetime achievement awards.

Sherin will receive the DGA’s Honorary Life Member Award, in recognition of creative achievement, leadership in the industry and contribution to the guild or to the profession of directing.

Garretson’s been tapped for the Frank Capra Achievement Award, given to an assistant director or unit production manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the DGA. Mazzocco will receive the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award, given to an associate director or stage manager in recognition of career achievement and service to the DGA.

DGA president Taylor Hackford made the announcements Wednesday.

Sherin served as national VP from 1997-2004 and oversaw renovation of the guild’s New York building and the establishment of DGA Honors. He’s also served as second VP for two terms and has continued to serve as a national board member along with serving on the Eastern Directors Council for the past 15 years.

Sherin began his career in the late 1950s as an actor and established himself as a theater director with the production of “The Great White Hope,” which won the Pulitzer Prize, the Tony Award and the New York Drama Critics Award. He joined the DGA in 1969 and directed feature films “Valdez Is Coming” and “My Old Man’s Place”; telepics “A Marriage: Georgia O’Keeffe and Alfred Stieglitz” and “Daughter of the Streets”; and TV series including “L.A. Law,” “Moonlighting,” “Homicide,” “Hill Street Blues,” “Law and Order,” “Law and Order: Criminal Intent” and “Law and Order: SVU.”

In 2002, the DGA honored Sherin with the Robert B. Aldrich Achievement Award. DGA third VP Betty Thomas will present the life member award at the guild’s awards ceremonies on Jan. 28.

Garretson worked in college as a tour guide at Universal Studios, entered the guild’s Assistant Directors Training Program and was hired to be the Key 2nd a.d. on a new version of “Columbo” in 1990. She was elected chair of the AD/UPM Council three times, served as an associate member of the DGA national board from 1999-2003 and has been elected as a delegate to 10 consecutive DGA biennial conventions.

Garretson’s first directing opportunity came on “Frasier,” and she has directed “Reba,” “Girlfriends,” “Sid the Science Kid” and “Shake It Up!” DGA Secretary-Treasurer Michael Apted will present the award.

Mazzocco first ran for a seat on the AD/SM/PA East Council in 2001 and has served five terms. He also serves as an associate member of the national board and served three times as a member of the DGA’s Network Negotiations Committee.

Mazzocco began his career at ABC Sports working as an associate director on “Wide World of Sports.” He’s worked on broadcasts of the Super Bowl and the World Series, “Nightline,” “Good Morning America,” the Academy Awards, “Dancing with the Stars,” “One Life to Live,” seven Olympic broadcasts on ABC and NBC and documentary series “ABC Notebook.” Hackford will present the award.