The AFI Fest announced the winners of its audience and jury awards Thursday, with helmer Alexandra-Therese Keining’s “With Every Heartbeat” taking home the Breakthrough audience award along with a $5,000 cash prize, Michael R. Roskam’s “Bullhead” winning in the New Autuers section and Clay Liford’s “Wuss” landing the Young Americans nod.

David Gelb’s “Jiro Dreams of Sushi” and Alrick Brown’s “Kinyarwanda” tied for the World Cinema award.

The grand-jury prize for live-action short went to Grzegorz Jaroszuk’s “Frozen Stories.” Marc Fratello’s “Babyland” received honorable mention.

In the animated short section, “The Eagleman Stag” by Michael Please took home the top prize, and “The Voyagers” by Penny Lane was also recognized.

This year’s short film jury was comprised of programmer Kim Yutani and filmmakers Barry Jenkins and Gerardo Naranjo, an AFI Conservatory alum.

Julia Loktev’s “The Loneliest Planet” was the recipient of the New Autuers section critic’s prize.