Acad honors 15 students

Winners announced in Student Academy Awards competition

Fifteen students have been chosen as winners of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences’ 38th Annual Student Academy Awards competition.

U.S. winners in the narrative category are Soham Mehta from U. of Texas at Austin for “Fatakra,” Shawn Wines from Columbia for “High Maintenence,” and Julian Higgins from American Film Institute for “Thief.”

In the documentary competition, the U.S. winners are Anthony Weeks from Stanford for “Imaginary Circumstance,” Theo Rigby also from Stanford for “Sin Pais (Without Country),” and Wongjung Bae from Columbia College Chicago for “Vera Klement: Blunt Edge.”

In animation, the U.S. winners are Tal S. Shamir from the New School, New York, for “The Vermeers”; in the alternative category, Zach Hyer from Pratt Institute for “Correspondence,” Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis from Ringling College of Art and Deisgn for “Defective Detective,” and Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang from Academy of Art Institute for “Dragonboy.”

The foreign student winners are Karzan Kader from Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts in Sweden for “Bekas,” Max Zaehle from Hamburg Media School in Germany for “Raju,” and Hallvar Witzo from Norwegian Film School in Norway for “Tuba Atlantic.”

Students from outside the U.S. were chosen from among 52 entries from 32 different countries.Winners will be announced June 11. in a ceremony at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater. A grant of $5,000 goes to the gold-medal winner, $3,000 for the silver and $2,000 for the bronze.