SAG’s feature ensemble award has turned out to be a relatively uncanny barometer of Oscar’s best pic race. Since SAG first introduced the category in 1995, the two orgs have agreed on the winner eight times out of 16, and only twice have the winners for one org not been nominated by the other in their respective top categories.

By SAG winner Oscar best pic

1995 Apollo 13* Braveheart
1996 The Birdcage The English Patient**
1997 The Full Monty* Titanic**
1998 Shakespeare in Love Shakespeare in Love
1999 American Beauty American Beauty
2000 Traffic* Gladiator**
2001 Gosford Park* A Beautiful Mind**
2002 Chicago Chicago
2003 Lord of the Rings: Return of the King Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
2004 Sideways Million Dollar Baby**
2005 Crash Crash
2006 Little Miss Sunshine The Departed**
2007 No Country for Old Men No Country for Old Men
2008 Slumdog Millionaire Slumdog Millionaire
2009 Inglourious Basterds* The Hurt Locker**
2010 The King’s Speech The King’s Speech

* nominated for Best Picture by the Acad

** nominated for a SAG ensemble award

SAG Awards: The Ensemble:
Hunting in pairs | Jay displays eagle for rising talent | Expert opinions | Primetime wholes made up of great parts | SAG winners tend to head to Oscar glory